Listen free for 30 days

Queenie

Narrated by: Shvorne Marks
Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (422 ratings)

Regular price: £19.99

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long-term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break, though. Definitely not a breakup. 

Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her and a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested) and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

©2019 Candice Carty-Williams (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Inspirational, funny and wise." (Kit de Waal, author of My Name Is Leon)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    284
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yess

amazing, a lovely depiction of humour and a black protagonist portrayed as endearing . really recommend this.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Refreshingly Riveting

Narrator is incredible!
I inhaled this book in a couple of days.
It made me laugh and it made me want to cry.
Queenie is relatable, raw, and human! She makes mistakes like the rest of us but didn’t fail to give me a warm dewy feeling when I finished!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book for Young Black Women

Realistic glimpse into the life of a modern young black woman. Loved This Book ❤️

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great! Listened twice!

Shvon's voices brought characters to life. Its lighthearted, relatable and easy read ! I listened twice on Audible and I'm sure I'll listen again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Honest and real

Loved this book. I think many women would relate to it in this modern day world, regardless of your race. I really enjoyed it and the voice actor was good and gave a good feel for thr characters cultural backgrounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice book

Nice book to read to pass time, good story and relatable characters but sometimes I felt like it was trying to do too much all at once, good story though especially for a first book from the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So relatable!!!

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I think lots of people on my train thought I was a mad woman when I laughed out loud on so many occasions. The narrator BRILLIANT!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

oh Queenie!

loved it. funny and candid. glad everything worked out in the end for Queenie. Candice Carty-Williams has inspired me to write a book too, hope it'll be as interesting at Queenie.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting, funny and kind

Beautifully narrated this is a brilliant exploration of life as a black woman in London. From the horror of daring apps to the desire to have you story told, family, friendships & therapy take you through Queenie’s imperfect life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

humble, honest and beautiful

extremely relatable and very well written. really got under the skin of what it's like to struggle with every day life in an honest way. would highly recommend to anyone who is going through some things and just needs to know that it's not just them. will 100% be reading it again.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MsHolistic
  • 02-06-19

Could relate to so much

the narration is amazing. i feel that people would have a completely different connection with this book if read. would recommend although this heartfelt story can get a bit emotionally heavy in the middle. loved it though.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Natalie
  • 21-05-19

I ended up quite liking it

After my mishap with trying to get a print copy of this book. I decided to do the audible trial and listen to this book for free. Now this is the first time I've listened to a novel in audible form so  this review is a mix of what I think of the book as well as the audible experience.


When I started listening I was just excited to experience something different so I was listening every chance I got. I loved that I had some entertainment in traffic as well as being able to listen on my blue tooth while doing housework. However after a while I did get tired of  hearing the narration. 


The book itself started off a bit shaky for me because it was beginning to feel like a depressing story of one young woman's poor sexual choices and boyfriend drama.


However it turned out to be more than that.This book touched on friendship, mother -daughter and familial relationships, battling anxiety and other complex themes. As I read on I grew to appreciate the backstory of the character and what led up to her decisions. I enjoyed reading about the counselling sessions and I was happy with how the book came together in the end. Not cliched and not depressing.

I got lost a couple of times because the author had some flash backs and I couldn't tell right away sometimes what was happening. I think it was mainly because I was listening to the audio version. I still wonder if I had read the book instead of listen to it if that would have affected my degree of enjoyment.

Overall I give this book three stars. As for the audible experience, I still have mixed feelings about it but I give it three stars as well.