Listen free for 30 days

Pride, Prejudice, and Poison

A Jane Austen Society Mystery, Book 1
Narrated by: Justine Eyre
Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
3 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Laura Levine and Stephanie Barron, Elizabeth Blake's Jane Austen Society mystery debut is a mirthfully morbid merger of manners and murder.

In this Austen-tatious debut, antiquarian bookstore proprietor Erin Coleridge uses her sense and sensibility to deduce who killed the president of the local Jane Austen Society.

Erin Coleridge's used bookstore in Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire, England, is a meeting place for the villagers and, in particular, for the local Jane Austen Society. At the Society's monthly meeting, matters come to a head between the old guard and its young turks. After the meeting breaks for tea, persuasion gives way to murder with extreme prejudice when president Sylvia Pemberthy falls dead to the floor. Poisoned? Presumably, but by whom? And was Sylvia the only target?

Handsome but shy Detective Inspector Peter Hemming and charismatic Sergeant Rashid Jarral arrive at the scene. The long suspect list includes Sylvia's lover Kurt Becker and his tightly wound wife Suzanne. Or, perhaps, the killer was Sylviaâ's own cuckolded husband, Jerome. Among the many Society members who may have had her in their sights is dashing Jonathan Alder, who was heard having a royal battle of words with the late president the night before.

Then, when Jonathan Alder narrowly avoids becoming the next victim, Farnsworth (the town's cat lady) persuades a seriously time-crunched Erin to help DI Hemming. But the killer is more devious than anyone imagines.

©2019 Carole Buggé (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Oh dear!

Why do American authors writing books with British speakers never get the grammar and vocabulary correct? Gotten? Sidewalk? Teacakes are a light yeast-based sweet bun containing dried fruit, typically served toasted with butter spread over them as opposed to the American teacake which is a small cake. Yorkshire folk don’t like the monarchy? We say tap not faucet. While the narrator is generally speaks British English when she said mobile as in mobile phone it took a while to realise what was meant. Small things but enough to annoy. I will finish listening to the book as long as I can control my tutting.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-12-19

Loved it

Please tell me there will be more Jane Austen society mysteries. Really fun book to listen to when taking a walk.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Berry
  • S. Berry
  • 18-08-19

Fun & entertaining, but not P&P

I enjoyed listening to this book. I originally purchased thinking it would be a modern retelling of Pride & Prejudice based on the title but that is not the case. The P&P characters are mentioned throughout but it is a completely different story. At first I was disappointed, but it began to grow on me. I enjoyed the story & the characters and the mystery. The narrator did a good job too.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beatrice
  • Beatrice
  • 15-08-19

Ok but...

This is an ok book. The characters are engaging and the story is interesting. Erin makes novice mistakes several times. I'll get the next one in the series to see if it gets better.