Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Leipzig, 1930s Germany. 

Hetty Heinrich is a young girl growing up under Nazi rule. With an SS Officer father, a brother in the Luftwaffe and a member of the BDM, Hetty is the epitome of a perfect German child. But Walter changes everything. 

Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect-in-every-way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. As she falls more and more in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, Hetty begins to question everything. Will the steady march of dark forces destroy their world, or can love ultimately triumph?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief and Kate Furnivall.

©2020 Louise Fein (P)2020 Head of Zeus

What listeners say about People Like Us

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    179
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never judge a book by its cover or title.

Oh wow.......
I got this book so wrong when I saw it on a 2-4-1 sale and was going to look past it as the cover and title looked so chick lit. Not sure what made me decide to read the summary but so glad I did.
This book was so beautifully and powerfully written.
My son is studying WW2 at the moment and we have been discussing totalitarianism and the rise of the Nazi party and there were so many questions as to why the Germany people were taken in by Hitler and the ideology of the Nazi party, this book gives that insight.
The story is told from Hetty’s point of view and covers her life as she grows up in Germany during the 1930-1939 period.
The book is fiction but so believable, the Characters and scenes are so real. The Crystal Nachts description gave me a feeling as though I was there witnessing it for myself..
This is Louise Feins debut novel, it was phenomenal and I will look for more by this talented writer.
Lastly a commendation for the narrator Holli Dempsey who reads Hetty’s words with emotion and conviction.
This book is up there in my top 20 of all time.
I am jealous of anyone who has not yet read it , you are in for a treat.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very powerful - beautifully and hauntingly told

Could not stop listening; perfect narration. So poignant and interesting hearing the view from a German child in Nazi Germany. A beautiful story of love, friendship and the true power of good against evil. Author's note was supremely interesting. Highly recommend this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

people like us.


Loved this book, very moving and interesting. Well read too. I will certainly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting & Thought provoking

An interesting thought provoking book, fiction based around fact, from the perspective of Germany’s Youth in 1930,s onwards.
A little long drawn out, & maybe doesn’t give enough respect to the people who suffered at the hands of the nazi’s.
However I did stick with it and the end raises my rating of the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply astounding

Well written and the narration is excellent. I felt emotions that hit me to my core, took my breath away.... An absolute tragic and beautiful love story but not only a love story. It’s so much more. This book will stay with me for a very long time.....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, moving and eloquent

Louise Fein’s first novel is a stunning and heart-felt love story and it’s consequences for Hetti and Walter. I loved it and the hope it gave me, despite the challenging parts, where everything appears to be going wrong. A brilliant debut, beautifully narrated. You will need several tissues.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A powerful story with a stark warning

A powerful story and stark warning of the potential to follow parallel paths in the near future if we aren't very careful. To experience the story from inside the mind of a nazi is unsettling, but makes developments more understandable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A little piece of my heart broke

I loved this book, great story, interesting and heartbreaking. Definitely recommend the read! You will not be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deeply moving. An amazing story

This is an incredible book. It's really interesting to hear the story told from the perspective of the Nazi's and the Jews.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An absolute MUST listen or read .Full of sadness bravery and love

A compelling listen .. I couldn’t wait to be on my own for the next chapter.
A fictional story of one of the most horrific times in modern history