Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Leipzig, 1930s Germany. 

Hetty Heinrich is a young girl growing up under Nazi rule. With an SS Officer father, a brother in the Luftwaffe and a member of the BDM, Hetty is the epitome of a perfect German child. But Walter changes everything. 

Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect-in-every-way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. As she falls more and more in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, Hetty begins to question everything. Will the steady march of dark forces destroy their world, or can love ultimately triumph?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief and Kate Furnivall.

©2020 Louise Fein (P)2020 Head of Zeus

More from the same

What listeners say about People Like Us

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very powerful - beautifully and hauntingly told

Could not stop listening; perfect narration. So poignant and interesting hearing the view from a German child in Nazi Germany. A beautiful story of love, friendship and the true power of good against evil. Author's note was supremely interesting. Highly recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I've never wanted a happy ending more!

It was pretty uncomfortable listening at times, but absolutely absorbed from start to finish. Beautifully observed, detailed, and layered historical fiction at it's best. I particularly liked the authors skill at immersing me in each scene with so much detail it felt like I was watching a movie at times.