Listen free for 30 days

Paper Dolls

Narrated by: Jessica Preddy
Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Paper Dolls is a dark and compelling psychological thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Chris Carter, C.J. Tudor and Karin Slaughter.  

When a bizarre set of murders take place in London, three flatmates become embroiled in the terrifying mystery. Mike, Beatrice and Kerri all share a flat and a passion to move their careers forward.  

When Mike, a frustrated mime in Trafalgar Square, lays eyes on performance artist Princess, his world begins to unravel.

Meanwhile, Kerri is struggling to hold on to her job as a journalist when she stumbles across a body, which turns out to be the third victim of the Paper Doll Killer. Beatrice, who was once a best-selling author, looks to the series of murders for inspiration but finds a lot more than she bargained for. As the three flatmates discover they each have links to the killer they start to turn on one another. Who might be next?  

©2019 Emma Pullar (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

“A deadly game of cat n' mouse...Pullar's dark mind is a force to be reckoned with." (Lv Hay)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected!

Completely unexpected twist.Can see this being made into a movie.Good crime psych thriller not for the faint hearted though!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narrator made it impossible to listen

I couldn’t get beyond the 2nd chapter as the narrator was so bad, no intonation or emphasis - it was a struggle to make sense of what was happening as she paused in odd places, rendering sentences incomprehensible. I gave up and returned it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious with a very irritating narrator

The concept sounded great and the book came recommended by a friend. However, I found it very difficult to concentrate on as an audiobook as the narrator’s voice was very irritating, the plot was dull and characters unlikeable. After 4 hours I gave up the ghost and deleted it - I’ve listened to 20 books on audible and this is only the second time this has happened. Very disappointing!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wasted Credit

Oh wow this was a slog to get through. I say get through, I can’t finish it as I’m finding the combination of tedious storyline and dire narration too much like hard work. Maybe the last 3 hours are great and make it worthwhile, but I’ll never know as I’m done.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for imadokichild
  • imadokichild
  • 05-03-20

Disappointed

I read such amazing reviews and I was so into it and then the author chose a cliche. I’m really disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TERRANCE
  • TERRANCE
  • 23-08-19

OMG

I did not see that coming. excellent book. Kept me guessing. this would make a fantastic movie

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book.Lover 1350
  • Book.Lover 1350
  • 22-08-19

I just didn’t care about any of the characters

I really didn’t like this book though it was well written I found it dull and I couldn’t connect with any of the characters. To be frank I never find child abuse or rape entertaining. I listen to at least 3 books a week and mostly suspense genre I like to read a book that I emotionally feel connected to at least one of the characters either hate or love this book was just blah I ended up listening to it at 1.25 speed just to to finish it

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kaley
  • kaley
  • 21-08-19

Pleasantly Surprised

My guilty pleasure read is definitely murder mystery/psychological thrillers. I read so many of them that I'm usually very good at predicting the endings. I usually measure how good a book is by how hard it is for me to figure out the ending. This book did not disappoint. There are definitely clues throughout, but the writer does a great job at disguising them and leaving you stunned at the reveal. I enjoyed this book a lot! Definitely a page turner.