Listen free for 30 days

Our Stop

Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (75 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

What if you almost missed the love of your life?

Nadia gets the 7.30 train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine.

Daniel really does get the 7.30 train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his dad died.

One morning, Nadia’s eye catches sight of a post in the daily paper:

To the cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress. I’m the guy who’s always standing near the doors.... Drink sometime?

So begins a not-quite-romance of near misses, true love and the power of the written word.

A fabulous feel-good romance for fans of Holly Bourne and Dolly Alderton.

©2019 Laura Jane Williams (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"LJ’s honesty and style are unique." (Stylist)  

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Prepare yourself for the biggest smile

Our Stop is a beautiful written heartwarming read. A will they / won’t they romance with the perfect blend of love, humour, heartbreak with girl/boy next door type characters at the core and a supporting brilliant supporting cast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

Ohmygosh! This book was perfection! Everyone should read it as soon as possible!! I was blown away by the storyline, which frustrated me at times (in the best way) and caused me to have verbal reactions and also the narration was spot on! This is the first audiobook I have listened to and honestly felt so immersed in the story!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You need to listen to this book

LJW has a knack of writing stories you've always wanted to read. Impeccable, adored it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an absolute must read!

If anyone needs a new read, #OurStop is where it's at. I listened to it all in 4 days and didn't want it to end. It challenges toxic masculinity while being romantic, adorable and about the law of attraction! It made me smile so much and I'm obsessed 💛💖

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Rare that I finish a book!

Enjoyed listening to this, it was light and easy to follow, short chapters and uplifting. Rare that I actually finish a book so obviously a good sign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun and nice story

Nice romantic, very modernlove story about two people almost meeting on the tube, writing to each other in the missed connections part of the paper. The story follows them as they try to make their connection happen in real life.

It took me a few chapters to settle in but I’m glad I stuck with it. I found Daniel a bit hard to believe and a bit of a sap but by the end of it, rooted for him, despite his flaws and missed chances. The Romeo character is Daniels confidant and friend. He was probably the most intriguing. I’d be interested in a spin off story about his background!

It was funny in parts and at the end it felt good that I’d stuck with it. I’d recommend it if you like easy love stories with mentions of current talking points or issues, and a London young professionals vibe you’ll recognise - eg flat sharing, drinking after work, going to whacky events.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tries too hard to be ‘woke’

I wanted a simple, uplifting story to put on in the background whilst I tidied or did other admin so settled on this since it had good reviews. I really wish I hadn’t listened to this... it’s not offensive in any way at all but it’s patronising and tries so hard to be feminist but while also reinforcing female stereotypes. The main characters are selfish and narcissistic but it’s portrayed as clever and ‘woke’. They’re meant to be seen as perfect (including their perfect flaws) but they’re annoying and they pat themselves on the back whenever they do anything good. It was meant to be cheesy and predictable - that’s what I was looking for but this book just annoyed me. The performances are done well and the colloquial style of writing is done well but the plot and characters leave a lot to be desired.