Listen free for 30 days

Other Words for Home

Narrated by: Vaneh Assadourian
Length: 3 hrs and 50 mins

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle-grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the US, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. 

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US - and her new label of “Middle Eastern”, an identity she’s never known before. 

But this life also brings unexpected surprises - there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. 

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

©2019 Jasmine Warga (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Other Words for Home

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-12-19

Great story for students!

I'm an English teacher, working abroad, who used this novel as a part of my fiction reading unit and my students loved it! They were moved by the hope and aspirations of Jude. She was extremely relatable considering that all of my students are Muslim and her narration mirrored their own experiences and thoughts growing up to wear a hijab or shayla. But, unlike Jude, they have either rarely or never experienced Islamophobia in the U.S. or the issue of belonging when one is displaced, so this was an eye opening experience for most of them. I particularly choose this novel to showcase the struggles of refugees who have migrated to America as muslims. I wanted to offer a dual perspective from the voice of an American Muslim author since the majority of my students are from the gulf states in the middle east. They were captivated and empathised with the characters and plot. By the end of the novel, they wanted to recommend it to others!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bi Fo
  • Bi Fo
  • 30-07-19

Amazing!

Great view for the character prompts feminism and all rasis be socin for ,varey amazing

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-07-20

The stroy that I listsend to was a connection

This book was a great book because this book told me a story like never before and I'm so happy to listsend to a story like never before

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brandon
  • brandon
  • 18-04-20

wonderful

so much empathy- what a wonderful heart felt story. a must read for all generations

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny Hansen
  • Jenny Hansen
  • 13-10-20

Beautiful story & performance

I listened to this story with my 8 and 10 year old daughters, who loved the story. I was also interested and enjoyed the story. The feeling of the characters came alive for my children, who are much like the character Leila: just different enough to not fit in entirely in either their father’s home country or here in America. Listening to the story was a way for them to understand and connect with their classmates who are refugees from their country, explaining the love for home and culture that America doesn’t understand or value. Definitely worth the purchase!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nat
  • nat
  • 16-08-20

Simply a beautiful story!!!

Very well written and such a beautiful and inspirational story. Thank you very much to the autor for writing the book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Taft
  • Taft
  • 05-08-20

Excellent narration, Illuminating perspective

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this one. The narrator does an excellent job with different accents/dialects which make it even easier to listen to. I love the perspective that this book brings to how American culture and customs are perceived by other people; and how the ugly traditions and perspectives have alienated the arab-american population. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BabyMommaMe
  • BabyMommaMe
  • 02-08-20

You need to read this book

This book was smooth as silk. The reader's voice was beautiful, the author's voice in her writing was intimate and transparent all at the same time. Children and adults alike should read this book to find out more about the world around them, or to hear a story similar to theirs.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David W Hart
  • David W Hart
  • 27-06-20

wonderful

Well written purposeful and full of wonder. The author tackles a difficult subject with grace and pride.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-06-20

A MUST Add to Any Classroom Library

In my search for books that reflect my students and with which they can connect, I loved this one Other Words For Home that tells the story of a young Syrian girl who joins extended family in the United States. I lover the forward by the author and it IS the reason that I actively seek books that have characters who look, sound and have similar experiences to my students. Additionally this book raised some interesting points for me and for my perspective. I found it on Audible. It was a quick read/listen but an excellent one.