Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A brilliantly twisty new thriller - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell. 

Both of them loved him. One of them killed him....

Louise has had to watch her husband, Andrew, start a new family in the four years since he left her. The ‘other woman’ is now his wife - but Louise isn’t ready to let Caz enjoy the life that was once hers or to let go of the man she still loves. 

As Louise starts to dig into Caz’s past, the two women’s pretence of civility starts to slip. But in trying to undermine each other, they discover more about the man they both married. And when Andrew is murdered at a family party, both women are found standing over the body. 

It’s always the wife. But which one?

©2020 Tess Stimson (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"I devoured One in Three, with its well-drawn characters, believably complex relationships and relentlessly twisting plot that keeps the [listener] guessing. Plus, Tess Stimson writes beautifully." (Debbie Howells)

"One in Three is just fantastic - complex, intriguing, fast-paced, with a brilliant, compelling cast. I loved it!" (Alex Lake)

"I raced through this tale of a murderous love triangle. Tense, twisty, and that ending - wow!" (Jackie Kabler)

What listeners say about One in Three

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SO FREAKIN GOOOOOOD

The characterization of the 2 heroines was so well done. All the characters around them were equally real & interesting. The plot twist towards the final chapters was unexpected. The way the author wrapped up the story was literally heart warming. SUPERB. Total recommend :)

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous in every aspect

I cannot rate this book highly enough - and I am choosy! Kept me enthralled through a cast of characters, with great skill. When Andrew, a loving husband and father with a new wife and an embittered ex wife, is murdered, both are suspects when discovered at the scene, covered in his blood and blaming each other. This is all revealed in the first chapter so no spoiler here. The story develops with each chapter devoted to the female protagonists and police interviews, spiced up with the introduction of other family members who provide further insights into the past behaviours of both women. With superb skill, Tess reveals the history that would culminate in Andrews death and it is this gradual process that drew me in until I could not listen fast enough......and as for the final denoument ..... WOW!!! Just sit back and enjoy this wonderfully constructed 'who done it' and 'why' and should you be disappointed, then something must be lacking in you!!!! Definitely, one of my favourite reads of the year which I cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you Miss Stimpson

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen!

Loved it. The story held my attention all the way through with a great twist at the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ok

I would say this was enjoyable right up to the last few chapters it had the potential to be to be a really good book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really good, great twist

I don’t normally leave written reviews as most thrillers seem very similar, but I liked the way this one had different voices for different characters and the plot was intriguing, great read/listen drove my family mad having my headphones in all the time, definitely worth a go
Didn’t need extra gore or violence to keep you reading as a lot of thrillers do, very cleverly written,

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Well narrated, good plot and characterisation.
Believable build up of feud and subsequent revenge. Engrossing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CA
  • 28-03-21

Brilliant

Best book in a long long time and I’m picky! Now on the hunt for something as good !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

Fantastic full of twists and turns wow wowo wowow wowow wowow wowow wowow wowo needs 15 words wow wow

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good twist and Suspense

A quite exciting plot that’s believable with great characters and it is well narrated too!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Always a bonus to get a full cast of narrators and the story is an excellent who done it. The male lead is reprehensible and you actually want him bumped off but the main female characters are not exactly people you want to cheer for either. The cast do an excellent job playing their parts and I would highly recommend a listen.