Listen free for 30 days

One True Patriot

Eric Steele, Book 3
Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
Series: Eric Steele, Book 3
Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Special operative Eric Steele must stop a foreign assassin targeting top-tier US military personnel and derail a strike aimed at the heart of America in this third electrifying military thriller from the New York Times best-selling author of All Out War, perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, and Tom Clancy

Two months after taking down terrorist Aleksandr Zakayev, Eric Steele is back in action. Though he is completing his Alpha assignments with the same deadly efficiency as always, he has lingering questions about his missing father - and his own future in the Program.

When Steele gets the alert that a fellow Alpha is in serious trouble, he rushes to Paris - only to arrive too late. Jonathan Raines, Stalker Six, is dead, the victim of a brutal attack. While on leave in the City of Light, Raines had met an attractive art historian who lured him into a trap. Before she vanished, the mysterious woman left a warning for anyone from the Alpha program who might follow her.

One of the best and most effective warriors in the top-secret Program, Steele has been trained to take on enemies, and no threat will deter him from avenging a fallen brother. But the killer won’t be easy to find. The search takes Steele around the world, from France, to the Adriatic coast of Italy, to the outskirts of Aleppo, Syria, and to a top-secret prison in Russia - where, unexpectedly, he finds more clues about his father - before finally taking him back to the streets of Washington, DC.

No one is safe while the killer is on the loose, and the danger is heightened when Steele discovers intel that killing Alphas is just the beginning of a larger, more nefarious plot. The real target is much, much bigger - and it’s up to Steele to prevent catastrophe before he becomes the next elite warrior to fall.

©2020 Sean Parnell (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about One True Patriot

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jon
  • Jon
  • 01-09-20

No more RC Bray

I think changing the narrator was a big mistake, he makes all the difference. Just doesn’t sound right with the new guy.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 03-09-20

Outstanding plot plus action and suspense!

ONE TRUE PATRIOT, Book 3 in Sean Parnell's Eric Steele espionage thriller series, continues the strengths from the first two novels. It is an outstanding novel. Although Stephen Mendel does an excellent job of narration he does not have the narrating talent of R.C. Bray who narrated the prior series audiobooks. But then few if any narrators can come close to the talent of R.C. Bray. So I am somewhat disappointed with the narration only because I expected Bray. This novel is a standalone but like most novels is a series they are best read in order. One True Patriot has my highest recommendation.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous
  • Anonymous
  • 03-09-20

It’s amazing how the narrator can either make or break the story!

Good story. Narration doesn’t tell the story properly. Overall a good lesson. The authors writing style is excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian Taylor
  • Brian Taylor
  • 27-09-20

Narrator is a Nightmare

The writing is horrible! Narrator is tolerable if he kept his normal voice. But his fake voices are laughably absurd and do not even come close to sounding realistic. In fact, he sounds like an idiot cartoon character 1/2 the time. After 3 hours of pure torture I was forced to give up and return the book. It is literally impossible to listen to this narrator. Also, the main character is flawed so badly that he even considers twice about killing women, even if they are evil murders and assassins ie in chapter 2. This is so stupid that his morality gets in the way of killing her to the point that she almost killed him because of his hesitation. If the character is supposed to be one of the top assassins in the world then this would have never come up. Author still must use his stupid visual metaphors in every 4th sentence. He always says, "like a (this or that)" and he does it 500 - 1000 times / book. Incredibly annoying. I've listened to 5,000 audiobooks and never have I read anyone coming close to doing this. In chapter 9 fight scene he uses "like" in 4 sentences back to back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pamela
  • Pamela
  • 08-10-20

Horrible narrator

Good story line, but the narrator made listening simply painful. His speech was slow and very meticulous. Not sure why Sean Parnell switched narrators. Will not be buying any more books with this narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JUNE L
  • JUNE L
  • 04-10-20

great story

the story was great, I wish he would have used the same narrator he used for the previous books in the series..R.C Bray, the narrator, Stephen Mendel, made this book just average and hard to get into for any length of time. The prior 2 books in this series , thanks to the narration by R C Bray, kept us on the edge of our seats and made it very hard to turn the book off.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-09-20

Not my favorite

I still like the character and look forward for more books. Hopefully the writer has not lost his way completely

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dexter
  • dexter
  • 27-09-20

Good story

Story was good, but narrator took away from it. Needs a Ray Porter or RC Bray touch

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-09-20

Narrator

Narrator Should have had women play/read woman parts or roles Thanks fun listen Bye

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brent Smith
  • Brent Smith
  • 23-09-20

Good Action Thriller

In between big epic fantasy and sci fi books I always look for fast paced thrillers to act as a pallette cleanser. Sometimes it's just nice to read a good old shoot em up that isn't 25 plus hours long. This book in the Eric Steele series by Sean Parnell fits that bill quite nicely. I've read everything Parnell has written. While his non-fiction, Outlaw Platoon, about his experience in Afghanistan is a non-fiction masterpiece his fiction is more popcorn entertainment but delivers in that regard. I think this is probably the weakest if the 3 Steele books, but the reason you read these, the action, is still executed at a high level here. There is one action sequence in particular that I thought "Wow I'd love to see that on screen." It may be over the top and not always realistic, but that's a tradeoff I'm willing to make. My criticisms generally revolve around some plot choices that are hard to discuss without spoilers. I'll just say I don't like it when an author has characters make poor choices that don't make sense for plot convenience. It happens a few times here. Also I didn't think the villain was that original or fleshed out. I'm not sure if we will be getting another entry in this series or not. The author is currently running for Congress (I hope he wins) so that may impact the series. Ultimately I hope we do get more Eric Steele because it feels like there are some plotlines that need tying up.