Try an audiobook on us

One Enchanted Evening

Narrated by: Julian Ovenden
Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
4 out of 5 stars (168 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

London, 1936.

Inside the spectacular Grand Ballroom of the exclusive Buckingham Hotel, the rich and powerful, politicians, film stars, even royalty rub shoulders with Raymond de Guise and his troupe of talented dancers from all around the world, who must enchant them, captivate them and sweep away their cares. Accustomed to waltzing with the highest of society, Raymond knows a secret from his past could threaten all he holds dear.

Nancy Nettleton, new chambermaid at the Buckingham, finds hotel life a struggle after leaving her small hometown. She dreams of joining the dancers on the ballroom floor as she watches, unseen, from behind plush curtains and discreet doors. She soon discovers everyone at the Buckingham - guests and staff alike - has something to hide....

The storm clouds of war are gathering, and beneath the glitz and glamour of the ballroom lurks an irresistible world of scandal and secrets.

Let's dance....

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Mr Selfridge, The Halcyon and Belgravia. The master entertainer brings us his fabulous debut novel. Prepare to be swept off your feet....

©2018 Anton Du Beke (P)2018 Bonnier Publishing

Audible Sessions with Anton Du Beke

Meet the author of One Enchanted Evening
0:00

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One Enchanted Book

Loved, loved, loved this book. The key characters were vulnerable and engaging. The atmosphere of the ballroom, the opulent hotel and the threats of impending troubles in Europe are threaded through the story and pull you in from the start of the book. The narration was just right. Just didn’t want the story to end. I hope this isn’t the last we will hear of the Raymond, the dancers and staff at the Buckingham. More please Mr Du Beke 😊

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Give up Dancing Anton

He's a fantastic writer, it was a brilliant book, hope he writes more. Totally recommended.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I found the story had varied content and characters, held my interest throughout, good narration.
Hope Anton will write another based in the wonderful world of dance.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Really enjoyed this book it's an ideal read for a holiday ...light, romantic but somewhat gripping at the same tine. It would make a great Christmas. present for anyone seeking a bit of escapism over the festive season.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant tale

Full of intrigue and romance, One Enchanted Evening has me captivated from the start, and I’ve listened to it solidly, unable to put it down. Anton Du Beke has proven that he is truly the master of all talents. A must read for fans of romance, and of dancing.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can't listen to another second of this!

Oh goodness, the only word I can think of is Drivel. I couldn't carry on listening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • AnnW
  • Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
  • 19-12-18

Surprisingly Enjoyable

This book is completely different to ones I usually listen to. At first I didn’t think I would get much further than the first few chapters but I stuck to it and I’m pleased I did. As the characters and the story developed I found myself getting engrossed and I really enjoyed it. Great effort for a debut book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the story, hate the narration

Am really into the story but can’t listen any further because of the incessant noisy swallowing and mouth noise of the narrator, it’s quite stomach turning 🤢

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Escapism at it’s best.

I loved this story from beginning to end. Very well written. I was transported into the Buckingham Hotel with all it’s finery.
I think it would make an excellent TV programme.......please!!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad at all

This was quite enjoyable, but I did keep getting feelings of deja vu, I'm not sure if that's because when the book was first released I may have listened to the preview or if the story reminded me of snippets of The Halcyon tv show. Either way I enjoyed the story and the characters. I look forward to ADB's next offering with interest!