Listen free for 30 days

North of Boston

Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A powerful, pause-resisting thriller set in terrifying yet beautiful terrain, featuring a brave and resourceful heroine.

For fans of Dennis Lehane, Peter Hoeg's Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow and listeners who love stories with a dark, gripping mystery at their heart.

Pirio Kasparov finds herself abandoned in the North Atlantic when the fishing boat she's on is rammed by a freighter that looms out of the silence of the sea. She somehow survives for nearly four hours in the icy water and is rescued by the Coast Guard.

The boat's owner and Pirio's fisherman friend, Ned, is not so fortunate. He disappears without a trace.

Compelled to look after Ned's son, Pirio can't shake the suspicion that the boat's sinking - and Ned's death - was no accident. With the help of a curious journalist named Russell Parnell, Pirio begins to unravel a lethal plot that takes her to Northern Canada and the ice-cold waters of Baffin Bay.

To survive, she must uncover long-lost secrets from her past, and confront her ultimate challenge: to trust herself again.

©2014 Elisabeth Elo (P)2014 Blackstone Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.