Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A brand-new cosy mystery series set in the picturesque city of york. For fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and Lj Ross. 

Meet Kitt Hartley: librarian, trilby-wearer, Lady Grey tea-drinker, taker of no nonsense...detective?  

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone - let alone Owen, whom she adored. 

Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there's only one thing to do: she's going to investigate Owen's murder herself. She's read hundreds of mystery novels - how hard can it be?  

With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library's eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work.   

She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she'd ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven't finished killing yet.... 

©2019 Helen Cox (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about Murder by the Minster

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poor narrator

Quite a good story spoiled by poor narration. Her voice is babyish, like a spoiled child! For this reason only I'm struggling to finish listening but will persevere as I want to know the ending. Please consider using a narrator who speaks like an adult in books which I assume are meant for adult readers! .......... Well I did finish it but still not impressed by this book ! It was very "chic lit" so not my cup of tea being 'elderly'. Helen should try taking a leaf from Betty Rowlands and other experienced writers of "cosy crime" I don't think I will bother with her other books if I see them in Audible. I will try to exchange or return it as soon as possible.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful voice

really struggled and narrator voice was so sickly couldn't continue listening to it. Story slow

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This girl's not from the Boro

As someone from Middlesbrough it is great to have the heroine from my home town. However, she doesn't have a Boro accent that is for sure.Won't matter for most folks, but it does for me. Interesting story but incredulous ending. Will certainly try the next in the series

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Getting lost in the story

Getting lost in this book has made me late for work and kept me up till the early hours. A great read Helen Cox, and narration by Eilidh Beaton was fantastic. Loved it.

Michael Minster (yes that is my name)

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok

Don't really know why I finished listening to the book. Annoying narrator and very flowery language.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous plot

Plot was overlong and totally unbelievable. Characterization was poor. If I'd had to read it rather than listened to it I'd have given up after the first few chapters.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

A comforting Cozy Murder mystery with a bit of romance thrown in. Librarian Kitt Hartley is not the most likely person to turn detective but when her best friend Evie is accused of murder she feels she has to do something. Set in the wonderful city of York it is an entertaining read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

irritating voice long plot

I could not work out if the narrator was meant to have an accent.
Plot too long and convulated.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unfinished

Really not enjoying this book. Stopped listening because I didn't think it was going to get any better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • JW
  • 18-08-20

Disappointed

The dialogue was at times very irritating - totally unbelievable, even for fiction. Such a shame.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beatrice
  • Beatrice
  • 13-07-19

not for me

I really tried to like this book but I couldn't get into it and I kept falling asleep.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Vilim
  • Denise Vilim
  • 28-02-20

I didn't give this one much of a chance...

The story might be good, but since I (a female) found myself feeling a bit put-out by the protagonist's blatant illogical and unreasonable conclusion-drawing, I decided to give the rest a miss.

1 person found this helpful