Listen free for 30 days

Murder by the Minster

By: Helen Cox
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A brand-new cosy mystery series set in the picturesque city of york. For fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and Lj Ross. 

Meet Kitt Hartley: librarian, trilby-wearer, Lady Grey tea-drinker, taker of no nonsense...detective?  

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone - let alone Owen, whom she adored. 

Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there's only one thing to do: she's going to investigate Owen's murder herself. She's read hundreds of mystery novels - how hard can it be?  

With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library's eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work.   

She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she'd ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven't finished killing yet.... 

©2019 Helen Cox (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poor narrator

Quite a good story spoiled by poor narration. Her voice is babyish, like a spoiled child! For this reason only I'm struggling to finish listening but will persevere as I want to know the ending. Please consider using a narrator who speaks like an adult in books which I assume are meant for adult readers! .......... Well I did finish it but still not impressed by this book ! It was very "chic lit" so not my cup of tea being 'elderly'. Helen should try taking a leaf from Betty Rowlands and other experienced writers of "cosy crime" I don't think I will bother with her other books if I see them in Audible. I will try to exchange or return it as soon as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous plot

Plot was overlong and totally unbelievable. Characterization was poor. If I'd had to read it rather than listened to it I'd have given up after the first few chapters.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beatrice
  • Beatrice
  • 13-07-19

not for me

I really tried to like this book but I couldn't get into it and I kept falling asleep.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful