Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Murder by the Minster

  • The Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Helen Cox
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (204 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Murder by the Minster cover art

Murder by the Minster

By: Helen Cox
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £15.99

Buy Now for £15.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Cornish Wedding Murder cover art
The Wintringham Mystery cover art
Diary of a War Crime cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
Death at the Auction cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
Dead in Venice cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
The Murder Wall cover art
Murder at the Spring Ball cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
Dead North cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art

Summary

A cosy mystery series set in the picturesque city of york. For fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and Lj Ross.

Meet Kitt Hartley: librarian, trilby-wearer, Lady Grey tea-drinker, taker of no nonsense...detective?

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone - let alone Owen, whom she adored.

Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there's only one thing to do: she's going to investigate Owen's murder herself. She's read hundreds of mystery novels - how hard can it be?

With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library's eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work.

She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she'd ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven't finished killing yet....

©2019 Helen Cox (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about Murder by the Minster

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story, brilliant narration

I really enjoyed this book. The pace was good and the characters were interesting and quirky. The narration was wonderful - it was like Jane Horrocks reading it. I’m not sure why others said it was childish - it wasn’t at all. The twists and turns were well paced and although I guessed a possible murderer half way through that didn’t take away from my enjoyment. Just off to purchase the next one!...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Getting lost in the story

Getting lost in this book has made me late for work and kept me up till the early hours. A great read Helen Cox, and narration by Eilidh Beaton was fantastic. Loved it.

Michael Minster (yes that is my name)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok

Don't really know why I finished listening to the book. Annoying narrator and very flowery language.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love everything

Found the story gripping, funny and full of twists and turns, loved every minute of it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Moderate but took a while to get going

Started slow and got slower before it finally got going. Hopefully the next, being a sequel, will flow better.
Not the best read but ok on audiobook for long journeys.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book

I wanted to love this book set in York but I didn’t. It has a good story but like other listeners have said it drags on and the author over explains almost every detail. I was listening in the car and shouting when some things were just so implausible like the main character constantly talking about her best friend in every chapter. It was too much. I only kept going because I live in York and wanted to like it. It gets a three for me because the narrator was good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This girl's not from the Boro

As someone from Middlesbrough it is great to have the heroine from my home town. However, she doesn't have a Boro accent that is for sure.Won't matter for most folks, but it does for me. Interesting story but incredulous ending. Will certainly try the next in the series

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining

A comforting Cozy Murder mystery with a bit of romance thrown in. Librarian Kitt Hartley is not the most likely person to turn detective but when her best friend Evie is accused of murder she feels she has to do something. Set in the wonderful city of York it is an entertaining read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great book and narration.

I really enjoyed the book and narrator was easy to listen to. Would recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

There are so many other cosy mysteries that are far far superior to this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!