Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Mother of the Bride cover art

Mother of the Bride

By: Samantha Hayes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Mistress cover art
The Split cover art
Bride and Groom cover art
The Good Wife cover art
My Husband's Affair cover art
The Garden Party cover art
I Let Her In cover art
The Girl in Room 12 cover art
The Teacher's Secret cover art
After I'm Gone cover art
Nowhere to Hide cover art
The Wrong Daughter cover art
Your Perfect Life cover art
On a Quiet Street cover art
We All Keep Secrets cover art
The Mother-in-Law's Secret cover art

Summary

My mother is obsessed with every detail of my wedding–controlling my dress, my ring, my happiness. But when the day finally comes, will she really let me go?

I’m smiling as I walk down the aisle, but my smile masks cold, clammy, prickling fear, even though it’s meant to be the happiest day of my life.

My husband-to-be, Owen, is everything to me, with his sandy hair and sparkling blue eyes. He convinced me everything would be fine. That we’d be safe. I pray he was right as I reach for his hand. He smiles reassuringly. I swallow hard.

Because last year, my sister’s fiancé was murdered on his wedding day. And I found my mother’s corsage next to his body.

So when our guests are asked if they have any objections, I hold my breath. Please let me be wrong about what she did. Please let Owen be safe.

But when I turn to look at my mother, my blood turns to ice.

There is only dark, calculating fury in her eyes. I knew she didn’t want to let me go. But is my husband’s life actually in danger? Or is mine…?

A addictive psychological thriller from an Amazon bestseller with twists that will have your head spinning until the very end. Fans of The Housemaid, The Family Upstairs, and The Perfect Marriage will be absolutely gripped!

©2024 Samantha Hayes (P)2024 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Mother of the Bride

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the nuances of characters

loved the story of broken minds, overbearing hurts, pushy parents and loves plans with twisty turns along the way. the last twist was totally unexpected. brilliant. Tamsin is a very good narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't finish

I found this book very frustrating! although I haven't listened to the end yet, as I got fed up! it was I found the whole story of the daughter letting her mum organise a wedding for her that she had no intention of attending bizarre, don't know why she just didn't tell her mum no! also allvthe 'strange' happenings to the couple very over the top! maybe I will give it another try as it may get better!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable and monotonous

I disliked the pure fantasy of this story. All the characters were not in any way believable and I second guessed the big twist a third of the way through
Waste of a credit !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!