Listen free for 30 days

Monday's Not Coming

Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl’s disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable - more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried.

When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year’s rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now, Claudia needs her best - and only - friend more than ever. But Monday’s mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday’s sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend’s disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she’s gone?

©2018 Tiffany D. Jackson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa
  • Teresa
  • 18-12-18

Suspenseful with twists!

Although the language is a bit gratuitous at times, and the references to sex acts and body parts make this an upper teen read, the story is riveting and the writing style is on point!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Precious H.
  • Precious H.
  • 26-05-18

4.5 Stars

I love that this novel highlights the injustices of missing black girls, but the time jumps confused me a bit and it wasn’t necessary. Claudia was a bit annoying with how clueless she was. The ending was not expected, but knowing the author and how ALLEGEDLY turned out, I should’ve expected the unexpected. Overall good book. Definitely worth a listen and recommendation.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-11-18

Wonderfully Heartbreaking!!!!

This book is tough on so many levels. reading this as a mother I was constantly infuriated. Im the type of mom that constantly worries about my children friends. If my child says something is wrong than something is wrong and I will get to the bottom of it. I wanted to reach in and shake so many people and ask them why the heck they weren't helping. This was such a good book though, I need this author to come out with ten more books asap. If you want to be wrecked even more than dive into the case out of Detroit that it is loosely based on.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. P. Giles
  • S. P. Giles
  • 30-01-19

Astounding

So relatable...the love for one's childhood best friend. I can't believe I have been so moved by a novel written for young adults. It brought back so many emotions and reminded of how important it is to have that one somebody to stand with you through those rough adolescent years. I recommend that anyone reading just lean into it and remember that 12 to 14 - year - old your once were and likely still are deep down. Beautiful story.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 19-10-18

Didn't see that ending coming

Loved it... this author is worth following . Looking forward to her next book. Highly recommended

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Britd03
  • Britd03
  • 12-03-19

Maybe For a Younger Crowd

Because of the social issues I thought this book would address, I assumed it would be more mature. It’s a good book. But I think better suited for teenagers and very young adults. I found myself getting weary of listening to a preteen’s school & interpersonal problems. Good message! Good performance! Not my favorite read. But again, I don’t think this book was written with 30+ crowd in mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for William
  • William
  • 14-02-19

Poetic... Heart-wrenching... Satisfying

I would like to thank Verysmartbrothas.com for suggesting this book as part of their 28 Black Authors in 28 days program. This book was suggested and the synopsis grabbed at me. This "fiction" really brought me close to the characters; so close that the tragedie(s) left me with a heavy heart. I've never felt that in a reading. The protagonist(s) felt like family. I had to keep reminding myself that this is a fiction. This mystery will definitely keep you up all-night until the complete end.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elle Jones
  • Elle Jones
  • 23-10-18

Phenomenal

This is the second Tiffany D. Jackson book, I've purchased. I think its safe to say I am an official fan. I know this story, the real one it's based off. It happened in Detroit but I appreciate the voice she gave the characters and how she took a news story and turned it into an art. There's so much depth here, so many stories within a story. I'm very happy I stumbled upon this author.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaime
  • Jaime
  • 06-02-19

Such a good read!

Oh my goodness! Such a good book. As a parent, educator, etc., this book was a reminder to stay observant and seek help when needed. The book was well-written and the audio performance enhanced the emotion. Definitely recommend this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 29-01-19

AMAZING

I have only felt so emotional while reading/listening to a book once and it was the Hate You Give. This book made me feel speechless.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful