Try an audiobook on us

Max Brand Library

Narrated by: mike ortego
Length: 29 hrs and 19 mins
Regular price: £28.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


This Raging Bull Publishing box set contains four classic Western books by Max Brand:

Black Jack (1922)

After the death of the outlaw Black Jack, his orphaned son is raised by a spinster who is determined to make an honest man of him. The spinster's brother, fearing his sister will disinherit him in favor of her adopted son, arranges for the boy, Terry, to discover his father's identity and to meet the man who killed his father. Terry challenges his father's killer and shoots the man in a fair duel. Terry then flees his home in disgrace. He tries to live an honest life, but no one will trust the son of Black Jack.

Harrigan (1918)

Two men who are so much alike that they hate each other fight bitterly as they compete for the attention of a woman, but if they want to survive life at sea, desert islands, street mobs, and savage mutineers, they're going to have to work together.

Riders of the Silence (1919)

The Great West prior to the century's turn abounded in legend. Stories were told of fabled gunmen whose bullets always magically found their marks, of mighty stallions whose tireless gallops rivaled the speed of the wind, of glorious women whose beauty stunned mind and heart. But nowhere in the vast spread of the mountain-desert country was there a greater legend told than the story of Red Pierre and the phantom gunfighter McGurk.

The Untamed (1919)

A tale of the West, a story of the wild, of four strange comrades: Whistling Dan of the untamed soul, within whose mild eyes there lurks the baleful yellow glare of beast anger; the mighty black stallion Satan, king of the ranges; the wolf devil dog to whom their master's word is the only law; and the girl.

Public Domain (P)2017 Raging Bull Publishing

What members say

No Reviews are Available