Listen free for 30 days

Marked

Alex Verus, Book 9
Narrated by: Gildart Jackson
Series: Alex Verus, Book 9
Length: 10 hrs and 48 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (300 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Alex Verus is tracking down dangerous magical items unleashed into the world by Dark Mages - however, when the Light Council decide they need his help in negotiating with the perpetrators, Alex must use all his cunning and magic to strike a deal.

The ninth novel in the urban fantasy series which began with Fated - the Alex Verus novels are magic-filled fan favourites, perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

©2018 Benedict Jacka (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    226
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    200
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read - just need the next one now

Great read and good continuation of the characters. Just need the next one so I can find out what happens!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Thoroughly enjoyed the book and the narrator - he did the voices very well indeed

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Further adventures

This review of the ninth Alex Verus book is inevitably also of all the others which I've consumed as fast as possible in the last couple of weeks; just as I'll be consuming ten, eleven and twelve, when - and if - they come along in due course. A thoroughly entertaining read and a well constructed and convincing story world. Gildart Jackson is also well suited as a reader, with a slightly donnish quality to his reading which makes the magical anti-hero sound a bit like Inspector Morse at times.

If comparisons are invidious, it's also safe to say that, if you liked Jim Butcher's Dresden books or Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid series, then these books will be your cup of henbane. It's the same formula as those books, a Chandleresque outsider going down the meaner streets of magic but this time in a London setting. (Despite this, I'd say that the books have more in common with the American writers than, say, Aaronovitch's Peter Grant who comes from a different genre stable. There's more noir touches for one thing, and a 'scooby' crew who back up Alex when he gets in a jam.

All these heroes have a tough time with authority but Jacka scores special points for his depiction of the vicious, hypocritical officials who rule his magic world. Somehow that rings true. Perhaps JK Rowling should take notes as she climbs into the ring with Trump?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

finally, he told her his feelings!!!

I've been waiting for this for a long time, but now I really need to see what's going to happen 😁

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

More of the same

It's fine but after 9 books, I'd appreciate a bit more plot development. Verus doesn't really have much depth and the Light council are increasingly unbelievable. I will plough on with book 10 when it appears but without much anticipation.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

too short by far.

Good narration. issue is that it is not long enough. too much is missing. Stop leaving cliff hangers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A bit repetitive but still very good

I enjoy the political drama as well as the information on the history of magic and magical creatures, but the story is getting a bit repetitive with Alex being sent out on yet another quest while everyone thinks he is playing for the other team. And indeed by the end of it, morally he is taking another step in this direction.
Surely we are slowly entering the final stretch of the story and I hope that the author can really make it come together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant series

Brilliant book series, I listened to a full book a day every day until I finished it. Can't wait for the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what a cliffhanger - but a good one

several exciting twists; excellent display of the growth of the characters from the first and second books. And a much more in depth dive into the politics of the world. let's just hope Alex and Caldara can get on...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Takes longer to get into

The beginning feels quite distant from the ongoing character storylines, so I found it harder to get into. Gets better once it returns to the characters. As always, the narrator is great

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-05-19

wow!

Really WOW!! I'm so glad Benedict wrote this book, there really is nothing like it out there. I won't even try to compare it to any book I've ever read or listened to. Thank you Benedict for this wonderful adventure, it was one of a kind.

The naratorion was perfect, I don't think anyone else could have done it better.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nighteyes
  • Nighteyes
  • 14-11-18

Verus kicks ass as ever

I don't think I will ever grow tired of the concept of limited foreknowledge of the possible futures, but the formula is getting a little stale...
Verus cannot trust anybody, Verus trusts, Verus wins

Still a fun book though