Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Cobble is a Neanderthal with itchy feet and the mind of an engineer, unlike anyone else in his old-fashioned tribe. Making Man follows his journey as he leaves the village of Boardom behind, taking him through mountains, underground animal lairs, and into new landscapes. As with all good prehistoric comedies there is a mysterious pendant and a healthy dose of talking insects. Fans of Douglas Adams and Sir Terry Pratchett may not enjoy Making Man as much as those esteemed authors, there are fewer elephants and no Vogons after all, but they should enjoy and remember it fondly nonetheless.

©2018 John Drake (P)2019 John Drake

What listeners say about Making Man

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent light entertainment.

A lovely, witty and entertaining story. Nice quips and wordplay, typical of this author! A great first publication and I look forward to hearing future work by Mr Drake.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for richard smith
  • richard smith
  • 27-03-20

Great fun, ol'chap.

It has the famously British style of humour, and is a delightful story that doesn't take too long to go through. Not too short. Not too long. Just right. And Bryan did swimmingly, as is the normal for him.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-02-20

Delightful

This book was great - the character development was exceptional, the humor easily appreciated, and the storyline itself refreshing. Between the author and the narrator, it was easy to immerse myself in the story and enjoy my commute. 10/10, will listen again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ginger Ro
  • Ginger Ro
  • 12-02-20

Lively voice work!

The narrator brings this entire story to a real place in my mind. The voice and accent are lively and unrelenting in the best way. I enjoyed it. -Roth

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan Tackett
  • Megan Tackett
  • 29-01-20

I laughed my ass off

such a great book in the satirical style of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. the pythons have nothing on John Drake!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly Gardner
  • Kelly Gardner
  • 25-01-20

what a great narrator. Bryan Stansbury is amazing

cannot wait to listen to the next audible from Bryan Stansbury. very professional and creative.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Becky S
  • Becky S
  • 08-01-20

Delightful from start to finish!

A truly enjoyable story full of wit, wisdom, and whimsy. Drake's novel captures the imagination as well as the heart. Bryan Stansbury's narration brings to life a cast of memorable and loveable characters with a strong voice that seamlessly transitions from one to the next. Exceptional talent!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HappyInAZ
  • HappyInAZ
  • 27-09-20

Great fun!

Simple story. New discoveries. Characters who are easy to understand. This is light reading (listening) for just about everyone. Worth the time and money.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TheAudiobookReview
  • TheAudiobookReview
  • 08-09-20

Funny and Heartfelt Prehistoric Fun

I enjoyed the hell out of this one! I’m on a bit of a roll recently with books in the vein of Douglas Adams and this one has many similar qualities, maybe not as polished but a cracking good story besides. The story revolves around Cobble, a neanderthal with a mind for engineering, and Bones, an adopted outsider with an unknown past and only a mysterious pendant to his name. Unsatisfied with their life in Boardom, the sleepy commune filled with cavemen who excel in doing nothing at all, Cobble and Bones strike out on their own to find a better life. A large cast of characters each with quirks of their own. The narrator, Bryan Stansbury, does a fantastic job keeping them in line though. His choice of accents helped, and certainly made me grin thinking of cavemen with cockney, snooty, and various others found around the British isles. Filled with plenty of laugh-out-loud one-liners, a stack of crazy adventures, talking animals and insects, and more heart and sincerity that you would think prehistorical humans capable of, John Drake knocked it out of the park with this one. If Mr Drake keeps writing stories like these then I’ll keep on getting them. I’ll be keeping an eye out for any new stories he releases. This was an absolute delight of a story, and I thoroughly recommend it. I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. I have not let this affect nor influence my opinions of this audiobook, and have left an honest review.