Listen free for 30 days

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance

Narrated by: Emma Swan
Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Because it's never too late to start over....

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton - Maggsie - doesn't need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She's more than capable of looking after herself. 

She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes. Even her. The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy....

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she's offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what. At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change. Especially her. 

But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different - if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people. 

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, Three Things About Elsie and Elizabeth Is Missing.

©2019 Frances Maynard (P)2019 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written & wonderfully narrated

I knew I’d enjoy this audiobook, because of how much I enjoyed Elvira Carr.
This book is funny, heart warming & heart breaking.
I’d love for there to be a sequel, just to see how Maggsie gets on.