Regular price: £21.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you.

Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.

Now a New York Times best seller and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner, Bruna Papandrea, in conjunction with Lionsgate Films.

Her perfect life is a perfect lie....

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.

Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts....

When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation. But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or,will it, at long last, set Ani free?

©2015 Jessica Knoll (P)2015 Simon and Schuster US

Critic reviews

"…definitely, definitely read it."('Why you need to read Luckiest Girl Alive', Stylist Magazine)
"There’s a vogue at present for female narrators who seem designed to be utterly hateful and, at first, heroine Ani seems like a superficial Manhattan princess, interested only in designer labels and being the thinnest woman in the room. But, as this multi-layered thriller develops, the dark shadows from her traumatic adolescence are laid bare, and a brooding sense of impending horror begins to ooze through this narrative. Add a cracker of a plot revelation half way through, and it becomes clear that this classy debut will appeal to those who like thrillers with sharp edges." (‘Staying In or Going Out’, The Sunday Mirror)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Summertime read.

Great narrator's voice, really suits the lead character. If you liked 'Gone Girl' and 'The Girl on the Train', you'll like this too.
Highly recommend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprised by how good this book is.

I very rarely write reviews, but I just wanted to say how different this book is , how the hero is not always perfect, but sometimes shallow and maybe not very likeable, 'not the case for me'. I thought she was a brilliant character, so well thought and most of all very real. I would recommend this book to everybody.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good holiday listen/read!

This was a good book to listen to on holiday. I had to speed up the reader slightly as I found it a little slow in pace.
The main character is deliciously hateful and really what kept me listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great listen

Loved it. Tiffany seems to be an unlikeable character but her story is compulsive listening. I would definitely recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing and nothing like Gone Girl

What disappointed you about Luckiest Girl Alive?

The book cover compares it with Flynn and Gone Girl, which this book is nowhere near. It does not have any twist at all. It's just a story about a very shallow character.If you are after a surprise ending, gripping read just skip this book, because it does not deliver a surprise end, any twist or a gripping story.

Has Luckiest Girl Alive put you off other books in this genre?

Yes.

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The performer was quite good. Maybe the only best thing about this audio book.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I am sorry but I really didn't like it. I doubt anyone with a taste for fiction/literature will enjoy this book.

Any additional comments?

Honestly, I felt like I am tricked into a book which I’ll never pick up if it was not ‘compared’ to Gone Girl on the cover. Really disappointed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing<br />

I was determined to get into this book and tried and on several attempts gave up. I have to say the chapters I managed to read were boring. Even running the recording back and consciously make an effort to concentrate on the book I still could only find it boring. Definately returning this book

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Trish
  • New Malden, United Kingdom
  • 02-03-16

Hard to empathise with main character

Is there anything you would change about this book?

For me the lead character would have to be more likeable

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The basic story line was good and the switching from past to present worked well

What does Madeleine Maby bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I thought the narrator was excellent

Do you think Luckiest Girl Alive needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No but I would try another novel by the same author

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the narrative style but found the character of Tiffany/ Ani so unpleasant. I see a previous reviewer said she loved Tiffany so there we are, it's all up to you. It was a good premise for a novel although it was fairly easy to guess what was going to happen

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant !!

I loved Tiffany and her story brought me to tears at points. Very realistic and very true of this age character... Well done

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not great

The main character dull, shallow and annoying at times. Nothing much happened throughout the book and character relationships i was interested in amounted to nothing. The over use of as..as was irritating.

I bought this book under the impression it was like the works of Gillian Flynn; in short, it was a disappointment to listen to. You should by her book instead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful