Listen free for 30 days

Little Friends

Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering.  

There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer.  

Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children. Until tragedy strikes. 

Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world, and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true.... 

©2020 Jane Shemilt (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Extremely clever, readable and elegant...perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best." (Suzy K Quinn, best-selling author of Don't Tell Teacher)  

"Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!" (Ali Land, best-selling author of Good Me Bad Me)

"Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps." (Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Be Careful!

Do not open or switch on this book.....if you have somewhere to go or things to do! Because you won’t get there or get them done!. The book grabbed me at the first page and wouldn’t let go. It is better than brilliant and Imogen Church’s narrative made it wonderful. Enjoy! But don’t say you haven’t been warned!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just could not get into it ...

I have a love/hate thing going on with Imogen Church - yes she is a very intelligent, talented and enthusiastic narrator and as such is more or less unavoidable as she gets a lot of the best gigs.... but oh my goodness, she overeggs the performance to the point of hamming it up on occasions.
To counteract this I find listening to her on 1.25 speed makes for a much lighter, less OTT and more listener friendly read.
.......... but OMG this time, the accents - was it Caribbean or South African or Nigerian .... I did not hang about to find out as I could just not take it at any speed.

I did try but I could not engage with the characters of story, though the premise was good.

Basically all I remember from it was freshly baked croissants, a mutilated rabbit and a bonkers accent.
'Nuff said back it goes.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The narrator ruined this book

I struggled so much with the narrator but I’m glad I persevered as I did enjoy the story. What ever made the narrator and production team believe that having ‘Grace’ speak like a Lenny Henry’ spoof ‘black’ character was in line with the story was beyond me!

If you can, read the book! The story is interesting and covers some interesting subjects.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Oh my GOD it’s so BORING!

Even the narrator sounds bored (and Imogen Church is one of my favourite narrators). I barely made it through the first hour, the writing was just so tedious that I didn’t care enough about what might or might not happen to go on listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I didn’t enjoy this.

I would have returned this but I don’t like doing that.

I didn’t like it. I didn’t really like anyone apart from Grace, I should have liked “mellie “ but the simpering woman narration drove me mad.

It was horrid and so obvious and I’m not being mean, I think the point was it was supposed to be horrid and we were supposed to see what was so obviously happening.

I think it may have been quite a good book had I read it but the narration was really hard work, distracting and obviously controlled how I felt about the characters.

For me, the best books are when you don’t notice the story or narration as being separate parts. But that’s just me, and I couldn’t be a narrator so who am I to comment?!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good, but quite intense!

This is a well written book, full of well drawn characters. I did however, find it to be rather intense. I found it compelling, so I kept going, but at times, I wasn’t really enjoying it. The early and late chapters are the best. Sadly, the ending was rather abrupt. A point seemed to be made just before the end, that I didn’t really understand and then it was over!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story with a difference

Kept me engrossed right to the end , and really good narration . Thoroughly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen

I quickly figured out "who dun it" but that didn't put me off. This is an easy listen and I really enjoyed it. Definitely would recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

worth investing the time

a good listen. could have had more texture in places but overall, it kept me hooked and there were a couple of great twists

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary!

Amazing book! I absolutely loved it. I sussed out the twist quite early on but loved how it was framed.
This book is a keeper, and would make a great film.
Buy with confidence. The Narrator Wow, so skilled, I was on the beach with them and could even taste the wine!