Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Another fun, uplifting romcom from the author of Where There's a Will, perfect for fans of Jo Watson, Laura Jane Williams and Sophie Kinsella.

When all else fails, you just have to leave it to fate....

Just as 29-year-old Ella loses her dream job after an unfortunate incident (it was just a bit of hot sauce, for goodness' sake - he totally overreacted!), her phone rings. Her aunt Gillian, who lives in a tiny mountain village, has had a fall and needs her help. Ella gives in to fate and agrees to go, looking forward to a few quiet weeks to work out what to do with her car crash of a life.

But as soon as she gets there, she realises it's not going to be the idyllic break she had hoped for. With Gillian struggling after the recent loss of her partner, Mike, Ella promises herself that she will show Gillian that life is still worth living - and will certainly not be distracted from her new purpose by Joe, Mike's disconcertingly handsome nephew....

Has Fate brought Ella and Gillian together at just the right time for them both? And do her plans extend to Ella's love life, as well?

©2021 Beth Corby (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

More from the same

What listeners say about Leave It to Fate

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexander J
  • Alexander J
  • 12-02-22

Publisher's summar is misleading.

The publisher's summary calls this a fun, uplifting romcom. I rated the book five starts overall, performance and story. But this is definitely not a fun romcom. It could be called uplifting, in that some serious problems get solved with good will. But this is not a fun story. This is a story of the problems of aging. About getting physically weaker and more fragile, and getting emotionally less flexible and burdened with memories of a loved one who has passed. The theme also touches on cognitive decline and elder abuse.