Listen free for 30 days

Island of Secrets

Narrated by: Sara Alexander
Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Set in the exotic city of Havana on the cusp of revolution, an English woman discovers mystery, romance and scandal in the atmospheric new novel by Rachel Rhys, for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Lucinda Riley and Santa Montefiore.

Say, wouldn’t it be a gas if all of us here are pretending to be something we’re not?

1957: Iris Bailey is bored to death of working in the typing pool and living with her parents in Hemel Hempstead. A gifted portraitist with a talent for sketching guests at parties, she dreams of becoming an artist. So she can’t believe her luck when wealthy socialite Nell Hardman invites her to Havana to draw at the glittering wedding of her Hollywood Director father.

Iris is thrilled to escape to a faraway city by the sea. But she soon realises that the cocktails, tropical scents and azure skies mask a darker reality. As Cuba teeters on the edge of revolution and Iris’ heart melts for troubled photographer Joe, she discovers that someone in the charismatic Hardman family is hiding a terrible secret. Can she uncover the ugly truth behind the glamour and the dazzle before all their lives are torn apart?

©2020 Rachel Rhys (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Rachel Rhys should be on everyone's summer reading lists." (Clare Mackintosh)

What members say
Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.