Listen free for 30 days

Ink & Sigil

From the World of the Iron Druid Chronicles
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Kevin Hearne comes the start of a hugely entertaining new series set in the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles - about an eccentric master of magic solving an uncanny mystery in Scotland....

Al MacBharrais is both blessed and cursed. He is blessed with an extraordinary white moustache, an appreciation for craft cocktails - and a most unique magical talent. He can cast spells with magically enchanted ink, and he uses his gifts to protect our world from rogue minions of various pantheons, especially the Fae. 

But he is also cursed. Anyone who hears his voice will begin to feel an inexplicable hatred for Al, so he can only communicate through the written word or speech apps. And his apprentices keep dying in peculiar freak accidents. As his personal life crumbles around him, he devotes his life to his work, all the while trying to crack the secret of his curse. 

But when his latest apprentice, Gordie, turns up dead in his Glasgow flat, Al discovers evidence that Gordie was living a secret life of crime. Now Al is forced to play detective - while avoiding actual detectives who are wondering why death seems to always follow Al. Investigating his apprentice's death will take him through Scotland's magical underworld and he'll need the help of a mischievous hobgoblin if he's to survive. 

Packed to the brim with mystery, magic and mayhem, Ink & Sigil is perfect for fans of Rivers of London and Rotherweird. 

©2020 Kevin Hearne (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Will transport you right in the Scottish realm of fey and fairies.... The magic is both familiar and new, believable and extraordinary." (Charlie Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician)

"Vividly blends Kevin Hearne's unique take on urban fantasy with the grit of Scottish magic." (Adam Christopher, author of Empire State)

"Ink & Sigil is filled to the brim with the Hearne-anigans we've all grown to love. Fans of ribald humor, literary puns and the odd hobgoblin will be enchanted by this paranormal mystery." (Jaye Wells, author of the Prospero's War series)

What listeners say about Ink & Sigil

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible accents

I found this almost unlistenable. Not the story, that's Hearne's delightful mixture of fantasy and modern world realistic, with engaging characters. And not the plot. which gallops along with entertaining people and, erm, not-people to get to know. But the audio book is narrated with a teeth-grindingly dismal attempt at a Scottish accent. Like a cross between Daniels' own 'Owen Kennedy' and Mike Meyers' Scottish characters in Austin Powers. With a random and inconsistent collection of vowel replacements thrown in. Almost every sentence has a mangled word, pronounced in a way that nobody in Scotland would use. At one point I had to stop and replay a word 'Dow - ur'...before I worked out it meant 'door' Which is strange; the written book uses Scottish words really well, adding colour and personality to the characters, the book mainly uses them in quoted speech though. The audiobook uses them for the first person narrator, and not just a rolled 'r' or a touch of glottal stop. No, there is random and relentless vowel replacements, which bounces around from Ireland, to Newfoundland, to Liverpool, to Newcastle, not to mention the near kaleidoscopic Scottish accents. Edinburgh, Aberdeen, The Highlands... Hardly ever Glasgow though.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

My ears are bleeding.

I have no idea if this story is good or not as the reader's accent is the most awful Scottish accent I have ever heard. So much so that it distracts away from what is actually being said. Like a cross between Mel Gibson in brave heart mixed in with a bit of Cornish and a bit of Welsh accent. I actually couldn't listen past chapter one as it was making me feel nauseous, such a shame as I was looking forward to this story. Whoever thought this passed as ANY Scottish accent nevermind a Glaswegian one needs to go get their ears checked.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Shocking accent

Loved the story and Kevin hearne never disappoints but man the accent is teareabibleq if I was to try and write it by the way he says the word! 🤣 I kept thinking I would get used to it but no, next book will have to be read only I’m afraid

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

a great new story set in the iron druid universe. hopefully its the first of many following the sigil agents.