Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
I Have to Save Them cover art

I Have to Save Them

By: Ellie Midwood
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The German Child cover art
The Baker's Secret cover art
The Undercover Secretary cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Girl on the Boat cover art
Darkness Falls cover art
The Austrian Bride cover art
The Stolen Girls cover art
The Berlin Wife cover art
The Life I Stole cover art
The Child Who Lived cover art
Daughters of Warsaw cover art
The Girl on the News cover art
The Girl from Provence cover art
The Secret Pianist cover art
The Tuscan Orphan cover art

Summary

Auschwitz, 1942: Her entire body trembles as she stands in the infirmary and realises the horrifying truth. She’s a nurse, but instead of saving her fellow inmates, she’s about to be ordered to kill them…

Surrounded by thick fog from the nearby forest, Orli stumbles from the cattle truck onto the frostbitten grounds of Auschwitz. Betrayed by her own husband for being a German resistance fighter, she has no one left in the world, and this is now her home.

Orli breathes a sign of relief when her nursing skills mean she’s assigned to work in the infirmary. Even in this hell on earth, she can still try to save some lives. But when she’s instructed to assist Dr Josef Mengele, she soon learns that he is known as The Angel of Death, and is the most feared man in Auschwitz. At his evil hands, thousands of inmates are cruelly killed and experimented on. And if Orli is to survive, she will have to help him. But how can she live with herself if she sentences her fellow inmates to death?

As she stares into his eyes, she soon realises her resistance work is not over. She has to stay and find a way to stop this monster—even if that means she will pay the ultimate price. Inspired by the incredible true story of Orli Reichert, this unforgettable World War Two novel brings to life the powerful tale of a woman who risked everything to fight against evil. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will be utterly gripped by this binge-worthy audiobook.

©2024 Ellie Midwood (P)2024 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about I Have to Save Them

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.