Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The compulsive new novel from the author of the Sunday Times No.1 best seller The Caller and Gallery of the Dead, perfect for fans of Mindhunter and My Favourite Murder.

Every story has a beginning....

They met for the first time in college. Two of the brightest minds ever to graduate from the prestigious Stanford University. They met again in Quantico, Virginia. Robert Hunter has become the head of the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit. Lucien Folter has become the most prolific and dangerous serial killer in FBI history.

The FBI caught Lucien. He's been in prison for years. But Lucien has just escaped. And he’s angry. He's going to make the person who put him away suffer.

That person...is Robert Hunter.

And every story must come to an end....

©2019 Chris Carter (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

What reviewers are saying about Chris Carter: "Carter has a background in criminal psychology and the killers at the centre of his novels are all the more terrifying for it." (Mail on Sunday)  

"Carter is one of those authors who makes writing look effortless...I couldn't put it down." (Crime Squad)

"An insanely good crime series. Extraordinarily well written, high quality and high drama all the way." (Liz Loves Books)

What listeners say about Hunting Evil

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    284
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    263
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Non-stop thrills

Another fantastic story by Chris Carter, and really brought to life as always by Thomas Judd, one of my favorite narrators. Please keep them coming!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another gripping thriller from Chris Carter.

This was another really gripping story from the master of dark thrillers, Chris Carter. Although possibly not my favourite Robert Hunter book it still is an excellent listen!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Hunting Evil

I have had most of Chris Carter’s books and thoroughly enjoyed them but sadly found this the weakest. The dialogue between Hunter and Garcia is totally unrealistic for police partners of more than 10 years, in fact Garcia comes across as positively thick and hardly capable to be a detective. The other characters didn’t seem convincing either especially Captain Blake. Normally a fan of his books but this one was not for me.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Chris Carter Belter

What a thrilling read. I love all his characters with the exception of the Captain. She’s not particularly smart.

I’ve now got just the one book left in this series, so I’ll be hunting for an author of similar mind.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good but not his best

enjoyed the book but Chris Carter had set the bar very high and I preferred some of his older books more

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another amazing installment!

Chris Carter is on fire. He has created some amazing characters that you feel connected to and this latest installment meets all expectations laid out from the previous ones.
Robert Hunter is at his best and truly tested by his nemesis.
This lacks the twists and turns from others in the series because we know the killer but it makes up for that in many other ways without spoiling the book for people yet to read.
If you like crime tv shows and movies then this is for you, it's as gripping as any Netflix series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Chris Carter, is an absolutely amazing writer. I have read and listened to every single book in the Robert Hunter series. Chris Carter never disappoints. He is truly a talented man!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Looooved

Honestly don't know how he does it. Another brilliant book. The details, it's so gripping. Loved it 👏

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Abandon all hope, Detective Hunter

Upon discovering the series, I could never put it down.
Hunting Evil takes everything you've loved about Hunter and Garcia, and put them so close to destruction, it is terrifying.
As with the return of Lucian, the believable setting and the strong sense of danger, it is all perfect.
Tense, realistic and just fantastic.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious and self indulgent..

Preferred earlier books.. this one went on and on about .....nothing. Struggled to stay interested a
and ceased listening on a number of occasions. Doubt I'll read any more in this series.


2 people found this helpful