Listen free for 30 days

How to Be a Grown Up

Narrated by: Lily Bevan
Length: 7 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (139 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Caitlin Moran, a comforting, witty, supportive book for real 20-something women who want to discover how they can reach the end of the 'fun' decade knowing exactly who they are.

Have you ever felt lost, anxious, panicky about adulthood? Have you ever spent a hungover Sunday crying into a bowl of cereal? Have you ever scrolled through Instagram and felt nothing but green-eyed jealousy and evil thoughts? Award-winning journalist, Grazia agony aunt and real-life big sister to five smart, stylish, stunning 20-something young women, Daisy Buchanan has been there, done that and got the vajazzle.

In How to be a Grown-Up, she dispenses all the emotional and practical advice you need to negotiate a difficult decade. Covering everything including how to become more successful and confident at work, how to feel pride in yourself without needing validation from others, how to turn rivals into mentors and how to really enjoy spending time on your own, this is a warm, kind, funny voice in the dark saying, "Honestly, don't worry. You're doing your best, and you're amazing!

©2017 Daisy Buchanan (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Incredibly basic

There’s not much to comment on as the content of this book is incredibly superficial and lacking any kind of new insight or point of view on this very well trodden ground. Even the narrator at times seems to be speaking very slowly in order to drag out the running time a bit. Not worth a credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible!

this is a must read/listen for everyone with any mild worries about growing up, no matter what age.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book

A nice listen, some basic practical advice. A good starting point to self improvement.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Impossible that this was written by an adult.

It's painfully pathetic at times, the nonsensical meandering of a clueless person. I hope that I will never meet anyone who read this enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book, so witty and honest, great story!

I loved the honesty of each account describing the mistakes and failings of young adulthood and how it's these times that help shape and grow us.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read for every 30 something

If your panicking about life and what you have achieved by 30 then please read this book. It may not be everyone's taste but it will definitely make you feel like your not alone in the mistakes you still make as a 'grown up'

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lovely, warm-hearted guide to adulting

This is a millennial feminist manifesto disguised as self-help (and all the better for it)! I wish I’d had this book to read when I was in my 20s. So generous, wise and gentle in its advice, Daisy is very open (and brave) with the examples she shares from her own life, from money worries and mental health to sexual assault. I didn’t want it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great book.

I really enjoyed this, it wasn’t a patronising list of things to do like most books of this genre. It was genuinely useful. Some great laugh out loud moments and a lot of relatable moments. I couldn’t recommend it enough.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read it.

Struggling with the idea of being a responsible adult in the real world? This helps.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun and uplifting read

Daisy has some great insights into being a 20-30 year old that I will take away and apply to my everyday life. She is funny and insightful and her story has helped me think through some of my own difficulties that mirror her experiences.
This isn't really a book for someone going through an incredibly difficult time beyond general everyday worries, as someone from the north of England and a working class background, there are some cringy moments listening to a middle class southerner talking about her struggles working as a journalist in London and moving back to her incredibly supportive mother and father's house - it sucked me out of the book many times and made me laugh for the wrong reasons.
That being said, the performance is great and the overall take away from the book is fantastic for women in their mid-twenties. Thank you for sharing your story so far!