Try an audiobook on us

How to Be a Grown Up

Narrated by: Lily Bevan
Length: 7 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Caitlin Moran, a comforting, witty, supportive book for real 20-something women who want to discover how they can reach the end of the 'fun' decade knowing exactly who they are.

Have you ever felt lost, anxious, panicky about adulthood? Have you ever spent a hungover Sunday crying into a bowl of cereal? Have you ever scrolled through Instagram and felt nothing but green-eyed jealousy and evil thoughts? Award-winning journalist, Grazia agony aunt and real-life big sister to five smart, stylish, stunning 20-something young women, Daisy Buchanan has been there, done that and got the vajazzle.

In How to be a Grown-Up, she dispenses all the emotional and practical advice you need to negotiate a difficult decade. Covering everything including how to become more successful and confident at work, how to feel pride in yourself without needing validation from others, how to turn rivals into mentors and how to really enjoy spending time on your own, this is a warm, kind, funny voice in the dark saying, "Honestly, don't worry. You're doing your best, and you're amazing!

©2017 Daisy Buchanan (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible!

this is a must read/listen for everyone with any mild worries about growing up, no matter what age.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Incredibly basic

There’s not much to comment on as the content of this book is incredibly superficial and lacking any kind of new insight or point of view on this very well trodden ground. Even the narrator at times seems to be speaking very slowly in order to drag out the running time a bit. Not worth a credit.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Funny and feel good with some practical advice 👍

Funny and feel good with some practical advice.

Not a how to book by any means but a fun read to make you feel a bit better about life and being shit at it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great words, made me smile :)

I loved the honesty and dry humour of this book, I could relate to it so much! I personally think that audiobooks are never as good when they're not read by the author themselves, but the actual content was fab!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the most refreshing thing you'll ever listen to

where to even start...I was recommended this book by a friend and am so glad I downloaded it. This book is funny, enlightening, will make you smile in all kinds of places where you're not meant to smile (namely, the morning commute), it will make you say 'ohhhhhhhhhh, right yes well I suppose that makes sense now' and it will make you say 'omg! I do that too! I thought I was the only one!'. absolutely amazing ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well Worth A Read

for grown ups and sudo grown ups alike! Affirming and intelligent insight into how to live a life...which as we all know is a far harder this g to do than it seems.