Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
House of Shadows cover art

House of Shadows

By: Nicola Cornick
Narrated by: Heather Wilds, Fiona Hardingham, Beverley A Crick
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Lady of the Loch cover art
Secrets of the Mist cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
Hidden in the Mists cover art
Echoes of the Runes cover art
The Emerald Comb cover art
The Wind Chime cover art
The Stationmaster’s Daughter cover art
Exit Unicorns cover art
A House Full of Secrets cover art
The Storm Girl cover art
The Hanging Tree cover art
The Drowned Village cover art
The Care and Feeding of Waspish Widows cover art
The Last Heir to Blackwood Library cover art
Daughter of Winter Box Set cover art

Summary

For fans of Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton comes an unforgettable novel about three women and the power one lie can have over history.

London, 1662

There was something the Winter Queen needed to tell him. She fought for the strength to speak.
‘The crystal mirror is a danger. It must be destroyed - ‘
He replied instantly. ‘It will’.

Ashdown, Oxfordshire, present day

Ben Ansell is researching his family tree when he disappears. As his sister Holly begins a desperate search, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to an ornate antique mirror and to the diary of Lavinia, a 19th-century courtesan who was living at Ashdown House when it burned to the ground over 200 years ago.

Intrigued, and determined to find out more about the tragedy at Ashdown, Holly’s only hope is that uncovering the truth about the past will lead her to Ben.

©2019 Nicola Cornick (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about House of Shadows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Story

This is a good story, however it is spoilt a little by on of the three narrators. She is very precise but she ruins the flow of the book it doesn’t help how many he said and she said sentences she has to say. It is this narration I found really annoying and a bit off putting

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely historical fiction

A very interesting tale spun around Elizabeth of Bohemia, and a modern day drama linked by
Means of genealogy and magical tokens. The modern day narrator is good but the 17th century one is so wooden and has disturbing quirks that detract from the tale. Nevertheless worth acquiring.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

loved the intertwining story of then and now. very skillfull storyline that gave interest all the way through.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A threadbare tale

Having enjoyed the Phantom Tree, I was encouraged to listen to another by the same author. However this one was a threadbare tale. While some of the historical elements were interesting, the modern piece was sketchily drawn & required the reader to suspend not only credibility but common sense also. The 17th century element was narrated with an intonation & inflection, especially at the end of sentences which pushed my endurance to the limit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad

I really enjoy stories which span time and this was an intriguing story. However hard I tried I found it hard to empathise or connect with the modern day characters. They were all "good" and predictable so there was little intrigue in the story and all a bit of a let down at the big reveal. I loved the nineteenth century story though. much more captivating. As others said the seventeenth century narrator was poor - completely mechanical delivery with no change to cadence, tone, intonation of the sentences.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narration

I like to have the audio version of books as well as the Kindle version, as it means I can plough through more books while doing housework, driving etc. However, I CANNOT stick with this audio. The narrator's intonation is all wrong!! It's terrible. Even my 10 and 7 year old know that not every sentence has the same cadence, phrasing etc so how did this 'professional' get the job?! Back to the old-fashioned way in order to finish this one. Shame.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poorly narrated!

Really struggling with this due to the narrator of the 17th century sections of the book. If the sample had her narrating I wouldn't have purchased it but the later parts of the book drew me in so am persrvering. I have been tempted several times to request a refund though!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Find another narrator!!

I only got as far as halfway through chapter 2 as I couldn't stand the way it was being read! The narrator obviously feels she should do the whole thing in a horrid imperious false voice, reading every single line the same way with exactly the same rises & falls & intonation no matter what she was saying! You can't get into any of the story line as there was no emotion or individual intonation for any of the detail. Its a shame as I'm sure the written book is pro ably good... but this horrendous reading prevented me from being able to listen to another second of it. I'd like my credit back please!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!