Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton comes an unforgettable novel about three women and the power one lie can have over history.

London, 1662

There was something the Winter Queen needed to tell him. She fought for the strength to speak.
‘The crystal mirror is a danger. It must be destroyed - ‘
He replied instantly. ‘It will’.

Ashdown, Oxfordshire, present day

Ben Ansell is researching his family tree when he disappears. As his sister Holly begins a desperate search, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to an ornate antique mirror and to the diary of Lavinia, a 19th-century courtesan who was living at Ashdown House when it burned to the ground over 200 years ago.

Intrigued, and determined to find out more about the tragedy at Ashdown, Holly’s only hope is that uncovering the truth about the past will lead her to Ben.

©2019 Nicola Cornick (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about House of Shadows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Story

This is a good story, however it is spoilt a little by on of the three narrators. She is very precise but she ruins the flow of the book it doesn’t help how many he said and she said sentences she has to say. It is this narration I found really annoying and a bit off putting

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A threadbare tale

Having enjoyed the Phantom Tree, I was encouraged to listen to another by the same author. However this one was a threadbare tale. While some of the historical elements were interesting, the modern piece was sketchily drawn & required the reader to suspend not only credibility but common sense also. The 17th century element was narrated with an intonation & inflection, especially at the end of sentences which pushed my endurance to the limit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

loved the intertwining story of then and now. very skillfull storyline that gave interest all the way through.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poorly narrated!

Really struggling with this due to the narrator of the 17th century sections of the book. If the sample had her narrating I wouldn't have purchased it but the later parts of the book drew me in so am persrvering. I have been tempted several times to request a refund though!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narration

I like to have the audio version of books as well as the Kindle version, as it means I can plough through more books while doing housework, driving etc. However, I CANNOT stick with this audio. The narrator's intonation is all wrong!! It's terrible. Even my 10 and 7 year old know that not every sentence has the same cadence, phrasing etc so how did this 'professional' get the job?! Back to the old-fashioned way in order to finish this one. Shame.