Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"This may just have saved my life...." The hurried scribble in the dusty visitors’ book catches Gwen’s eye. Just like that, she is drawn into a mystery at the heart of the pretty village of Hopley, and her troubles seem to fall behind.

When tragedy strikes, Gwen Stanley finds herself jobless and heartbroken. With nowhere else to turn, she retreats to Hopley, a crumbling little village in the sun-dappled English countryside. Wandering the winding lanes and daydreaming about what could have been, Gwen feels so very lost for the first time....

Until one day she pushes through the creaking doors of a tiny stone church on the edge of the village, forgotten by nearly everyone. There she stumbles on a little book full of local secrets. It might just change her life.

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern, and Fiona Valpy, this is a gorgeous, feel-good listen from a Richard and Judy best-selling author.

©2021 Tracy Rees (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Hidden Secrets at the Little Village Church

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kind. Gentle. Supportive. Life affirming.

A well chosen, realistic central focus: a church visitor's book. A theme of loss, in its many forms, and recovery and renewal runs throughout. Everyone has a story to tell if we take the time to listen. Characters, of all ages, walks of life, and experience are featured. It is never too late to make a fresh start. Aunt May is so well portrayed; it is scary; she is the epitome of my mother. I am pleased that the author didn't give Aunt May a personality change, just let her mellow for a brief moment. The ending is a little disappointing (no spoilers) but only to be expected, I suppose. It is extremely well narrated. If you have experienced a loss, or even if you haven't, I highly recommend this book; it is uplifting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

What a hopeful book. Thoroughly enjoyed it. And all centred on a rather hopeless church. If you want to be cheered up,read this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

I absolutely loved this book from start to finish its so relaxing and cant wait to read the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I think this is my favourite so far.
It made me wistful for young love lost and found, purpose and a myriad of other emotions.
Thank you Tracy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Loved it. Sweet enchanting story. Had a feel good factor in a time that needs it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Couldn’t put it down, what a charming feel good story and so well read. Looking foreword to reading another Tracey Rees book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it!

I thoroughly enjoyed Tracy Rees' first contemporary novel. Honestly, I was hooked right from the first chapter. A fascinating story of two of the most unlikely characters gradually being drawn together by a project that they embark on for very different reasons.

Looking forward to Tracy's next book. ☺️

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ZR.
  • ZR.
  • 04-09-21

Just a wonderful book

Such a surprise! This book is charming, well written, and has lovely message. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute and sad it’s over.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-06-22

Another captivating story from Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees is a rare author who can create characters with flaws, depth and humanity that make you feel like you know them. Her books are not predictable, they always keep me riveted, narration was very nice. Another win for Rees.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katharine F. Larsen
  • Katharine F. Larsen
  • 03-06-22

Cute story

A Cute story. A bit slow and predictable. Probably wouldnt choose it again. Good narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ethel M.
  • Ethel M.
  • 17-05-22

Heartfelt Story

This was a heartfelt, feel good story. Somewhat different than the authors traditional stories. But if you want something easy and feel good kind of a book, this would be it. A little predictable, but nonetheless, a lovely story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqueleena
  • Jacqueleena
  • 04-03-22

Loved it!

This book made my heart smile. I needed a sweet book after reading a few awful ones lately…this was perfect!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for peachnmario
  • peachnmario
  • 25-02-22

A bit predictable, but still lovely

I love Tracy Rees’ books. This little novel is very sweet, but not as “epic” in feel as her longer ones, and the ending, while well-executed and sweet, is telegraphed from about half-way through the story. Rees is a master of the surprise plot twist that you don’t see coming even as she has dropped hints all along the way. It makes me wonder if this is one of her pre-Amy Snow efforts.

Still worth a listen or read, though. Narration is very well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie Pope
  • Jamie Pope
  • 03-12-21

Already listening again!

Loved this story and all of Tracy Rees titles. Get lost in the world and characters she creates.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hippiehikerchik
  • Hippiehikerchik
  • 29-11-21

A Delightful, Sweet Story

I really enjoyed the sweet, simplicity of this story. Is it the most compelling, spellbinding story that I've ever listened to? No. However, in the insane ugliness of the times in which we live, sometimes you need a gentle, feel good story to escape into. I found myself looking forward to getting back into my car in order to find out what Jarvis and Gwen were up to next. Tracy Rees is a great author and her stories are always beautifully written; Hidden Secrets is no exception. I thoroughly enjoyed this delightful book and definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sailor Family
  • Sailor Family
  • 09-11-21

Fantastic!

I loved this book. The character development and the way the characters became better versions of themselves was uplifting. Thank you Tracy Rees for another beautifully written book. The narrator was superb.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for andreaptdd
  • andreaptdd
  • 10-09-21

Loved it!

This story had me interested from the start. I find thats how it works for me, otherwise I don't stay interested. Anyway, the characters were so well written, I loved listening to their lives intermingle. It's a great tale about ordinary folks, but it's interesting and sweet. I loved it, highly recommend. The narrator was exceptional as well.