Listen free for 30 days

Her Daughter's Cry

Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
4 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Someone wants her dead, and she can’t remember why. 

Zoe is a wife and a mother. Or so she’s been told. Ask her for more than that and she couldn’t tell you. The blow to her head wiped her memory clean. 

Zoe knows the blood on her shirt isn’t just her own. After she was found stumbling out of the woods, the police ran tests. They say it belongs to her missing daughter. 

Zoe is trying to piece together what her daughter’s face looks like, but all she can conjure up is a white-hot panic. A fear that her child is in desperate need of her help. 

When a man claiming to be her husband turns up looking for her, she knows she can’t trust him. Until she gets her memories back, she can’t trust anyone. Not the stranger, not the police investigating, not even herself....

A completely addictive thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Lisa Regan, and Gregg Olsen.

©2020 M.M. Chouinard (P)2020 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read !!

Gripping story and a must read 4 deserved stars 📚❤. listen to it in 1 day !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable


I hadn’t listened Or read anything By this author before but I can honestly say I really enjoyed this & it was a good listen as a stand alone.
It had thriller tempo & solid characters.
Zoe had such a roller coaster going on with her memory loss & then snippets coming back.
Not necessarily a liked person once the investigation started but once things unravelled the police could get hold of the full story. Likeable characters mixed in, the police were interesting characters.
Narrator was good, tempo kept going. Enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cat and Mouse thriller

Her Daughter’s Cry is a great cat and mouse thriller which had me hooked right from the start, and kept me listening until the early hours to find out what actually happened to Zoe and her daughter. The book is well written with plenty of twists and turns. One minor niggle is that I don’t think the title of the book fits the story.

The characters are believable. I loved Detective Jo Fournier who is dedicated to her job and has great camaraderie with her colleagues, whilst having difficulties in her personal life. Initially Zoe came across as quite vulnerable, but as the story progressed she became less likeable.

The narration by Patricia Rodriguez was just right for the book.

I didn’t realise that this book is the third in a series, but it reads perfectly as a standalone though I will definitely try to read/listen to the first two in the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fast Paced Thriller

When a woman stumbles from the woods covered in blood, disorientated and suffering from complete memory loss the police are baffled. She does not match any missing person reports and it seems no one is looking for her. When the blood turns out to be that of her daughter the mystery deepens, is she a victim or the perpetrator? When she disappears from a police facility the race is on to find her and unravel the truth. The only thing that is certain is all is not as it seems in this fast paced thriller.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TG
  • 03-02-20

Great book at a consistent pace

I really enjoyed this listen. Intriguing from the off, has you wanting to know more. Good character development and loved the twists and turns toward the end Really liked the main police characters and would love to hear more as they develop

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Thrilling police procedural

I received an audible credit for this book in return for an honest review. In all honesty I wasn’t sure whether or not I would enjoy it, as I usually prefer books set in the uk with British narrators. This is because I like the familiarity of systems, procedures and locations.
This book is set in the USA with an American narrator. It is a police procedural, but works equally well as a thriller. I liked that we got the police perspective, as well as that of the victim, Zoe.
I literally raced through the book, desperate to find out what had happened to Zoe and how she came to have lost her memory. The book was fast paced, with interesting characters, and a very satisfying ending. I look forward to reading more in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DabOfDarkness
  • DabOfDarkness
  • 01-04-20

Interesting! Works as a stand alone novel.

Note: This is book 3 in the series, but it works just fine as a stand alone novel.

A delightfully twisted mystery! I was surprised several times. I really enjoyed the characters as well. Zoe is a believable, sympathetic character. She’s lost her memory to some extent, is injured, and was obviously at the scene of someone else bleeding profusely. The police don’t have much to go on but they start by doing their best to figure out who Zoe really is (she chose the name herself instead of going by Jane Doe).

Detectives Jo Fournier and Bob Arnett catch the case. They are stumped. Where to start? Of course, all the basics are done but none turn up anything useful. In fact, Jo and Bob have to push the hospital to do their job with due diligence. They were sloppy and that delayed results. Some wires get crossed and Zoe’s image is released to the media. This does give the police a result! But, again, it’s not a solid lead.

But Zoe has vague stirrings in her deep animal brain. She knows she’s in deep trouble still. She takes the plot into her own hands. This is where the action really kicks in. The tale is one clue and the hunt to find more again and again. Zoe follows the few clues she can recall or stumbles upon. Meanwhile, our detectives follow what clues they knock free or our bad guy inadvertently leaves behind.

It was a brilliant cat and mouse game by the end. I was thoroughly entertained the entire time. Detective Jo is a captivating character. She’s human flawed, but dedicated to her job. Her family doesn’t get why she does what she does yet she still spends time with them. Arnett is a great partner for her – a great ally, good at his job, and offers protection or a shoulder should Jo decide she needs either.

The tale wraps things up well with our main antagonist. There is one thread left open (what is the ultimate fate of the second antagonist?) but I like that things are left a little open ended for the next tale or for my mind to fill in what I think should happen ultimately. 5/5 stars.

The Narration: Patricia Rodriguez was a good fit for both Detective Jo and Zoe. I was impressed with her ability to capture all the emotions of the characters in this story. Her male character voices sound like guys. The pacing was spot on. I did hear 1 off word – ‘she upholstered her gun’ – and that’s obviously not what one does with a gun. There were no technical issues with the recording. 5/5 stars.

I received a free copy of this audiobook. My opinions are 100% my own.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wenchy
  • Wenchy
  • 02-03-20

Fast-paced, interesting plot, great character deve

Dear friends and other interesting creatures, 

When I started reading "Her Daughter's Cry" by M.M. Chouinard I was not aware it was the third book in the Detective Jo Fournier series. It carried itself well as a stand-alone book and I did not feel lost at any stage. Although the book is a police procedural, it reads like a thriller.

A woman appears in a shop, injured and covered in blood... but the blood does not belong to her. She suffers from amnesia and detective Jo Fournier must figure out how she got injured and who the blood belongs to. The police establish it belongs to a blood relative; a daughter and so the hunt to find the daughter begins. Since the woman has amnesia, I personally thought they were in search of a baby or a young child, but I guessed that one wrong.

Who is this woman and is she innocent or does she have something to do with her daughter getting injured?


Zoe (a name given to her in hospital) is trying to piece her life back together and remember what happened, and the Police are assembling evidence. Who will get to the tipping point first?

Fast-paced, interesting plot, great character development and well worth reading.

The only bit that remains a mystery to me is the title of the book.

It doesn't make sense to me. 

I wish you enough,

Wenchy

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 02-03-20

Her Daughter's Cry

Her Daughter's Cry by M.M. Chouinard was a very good thriller. I enjoyed how things were unexpected, yet methodical in the police proceedings. Patricia Rodriguez performed the book well. Her voice was smooth and articulate, while giving the right emotions. I would listen to more books by this author and narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Phillips
  • Linda Phillips
  • 26-02-20

Wasn't for me.

This book started and ended well, but it did seem too long to me. The narrator seemed a bit over excited at times where it wasnt called for, and the word maybe was way way over used. I had to push through this one to get to the end.
The storyline had potential, so I would try this author again in the future.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula M. Williams
  • Paula M. Williams
  • 04-02-20

Great thriller

Very interesting thriller story. Lots of twists and turns that come with many details to consume while trying to figure out what really happened to Zoe/Marisa.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda A. Szymanski
  • Linda A. Szymanski
  • 26-01-20

This writer needs to hire a new editor.

Overly long, drawn out and melodramatic. There had to be 200 sentences that began with “maybe it is this or maybe it is that”. Almost as if the writer had. no idea what direction the story and her characters were going. A sharp editor would have put the skids on it immediately. Avoid this one if you will waste 12 hours you can’t get back.