Listen free for 30 days

Heatstroke

Narrated by: Helen Duff
Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A dazzling debut novel of a dark love affair, set to ignite debate in summer 2020. 

For fans of Zoe Heller, Emma Cline, Expectation and My Dark Vanessa

The summer burns with secrets.... 

It is too hot to sleep. To work. To be questioned time and again by the police. 

At the beginning of a stifling, sultry summer, everything shifts irrevocably when Lily doesn't come home one afternoon.

Rachel is Lily's Teacher. Her daughter, Mia, is Lily's best friend. The girls are 15 - almost women, still children. 

As Rachel becomes increasingly fixated on Lily's absence, she finds herself breaking fragile trusts and confronting impossible choices she never thought she'd face. 

It wasn't supposed to happen like this.

Intoxicating and compulsive, Heatstroke is a darkly gripping, thought-provoking novel of crossed boundaries, power and betrayal that plays with expectations at every turn.

©2020 Hazel Barkworth (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Painfully real, and so beautifully written I wanted to stay within its pages forever." (Clare Mackintosh) 

"Stylish and sensual." (Kiran Millwood Hargrave)

"A thrilling look at mothers and daughters, adolescence, sex, suburbia and secrets." (Nell Frizzell)

More from the same

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Thought it would amount to something that made me gasp. But it kind of just ended. Beautifully written and the narrator was perfect for it. But disappointed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting idea badly read and written

I don't know whether I am going to finish this book or will get too irritated and return it however from what i can say so far:
- the plot could be good - the idea interests me however I haven't listened the whole thing yet
- the narrator is super annoying, taking pauses in all the wrong places
- it is def. not beautifully written. I think it aspires to be but it feels somehow overbaked with too many adjectives actually sounds forced and artificial to me. (or maybe it is just the narrator that doesn't make this book any favours?)
- too many 'Mias'!! 'Mia this' and 'Mia that'. I understand this is one of the main characters here but there are ways of replacing the name with other nouns to avoid repetition