Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £27.49

Buy Now for £27.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Welcome to the ultimate experiment in terror....

Professor Abel Worthe is brilliant, wealthy, and utterly immoral. He is an expert in a very particular field: The study of fear and death. Using his vast resources, Worthe has transported a collection of haunted houses and paranormal sites to his hidden village. And kidnapped civilians are forced to confront unknown horrors in the chilling name of research.

Marcus Holt thought his worst memories were behind him. A veteran of the Vietnam War, this old soldier is haunted by nightmares of brutal conflict. But he’s about to discover that his battle for survival has only just begun....

Book One - Worthe’s Village: Marcus Holt finds himself kidnapped and thrust into Worthe’s village of horrors. Now known as "Subject B", this tough as nails combat veteran is determined to survive long enough to find and kill his malicious captor.

Book Two - Hell’s Hammer: Trapped in the shadowy streets of a haunted village, Marcus and his young friend Alex must deal with a new threat: The ghost of a vicious murderer, who kills with a bloody mason’s hammer. And the sadistic Professor Worthe is about to learn that a caged animal is the most dangerous subject of all....

Book Three - Butcher’s Hands: There is a new test subject in Worthe’s haunted village: A Roman Catholic priest. This new victim’s faith and devotion are put to the test when the group is hunted by a vicious ghost welding a bloody meat cleaver.

Marcus must put his courage, experience, and iron will to the test, as he clashes with the diabolical professor Worthe and his grisly collection of supernatural killers. Can he survive this ordeal and win his freedom?

Or will the final result of Worthe's experiment be too much fear for one man to take....

©2020 Scare Street (P)2020 Scare Street

What listeners say about Haunted Village Series Books 1 - 3

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This is a brilliant box set, loved it great storyline and amazing characters. I highly recommend this book set.
The narrator is pretty good too.
❤️🤣☠️👌

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Book 📖 😊

Ron Ripley has once again kept me very entertained with scarey ghosts and a madman whose idea of fun is to set up a whole town full of very bad spirits who enjoy killing and torture Plenty of things that go bump in the night Great 👍🏽 character’s good story & the narration is okay Would recommend this to anyone who like’s spooky stuff 😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

I really enjoy reading Mr Ron Ripley's books think they would make great films Narrator is excellent

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed

Whilst the books may become a little similar if listened to consecutively nonetheless Ron Ripley creates believable characters, good stories and entwined with other subplots, all leading to a really great set of books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantasy

absolutely brilliant very unusual concept in haunted series like the way the professor has collected all the ghost houses I made him into a village definitely left chills down my spine

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

excellent book. great story well formed characters. Narrator has characters spot on. really enjoyable


Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B
  • B
  • 22-06-20

Now this I like

I’ve enjoyed a fair amount of Ron Ripley’s spooky series. This one, maybe cause I’m working on a “village” project of my own (in miniature ho model scale) & ghosty themed books & podcasts have been getting me through this pandemic times, has quickly become not just my favorite series by Ripley but a favorite in general.
I being a Victorian era nerd could go for more talk of interiors of era structures, but that is my own nerdom preference & not necessarily go with the flow of these ( I only point out because sometimes less droning detail is a benefit to an author’s style. I know I hate authors that spend too much time on details that well, don’t matter.) & I can fill that in with my own imagination, why I like these books. I am enjoying the characters, premise & can’t wait for what happens next.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Danothy Grimm
  • Danothy Grimm
  • 22-09-20

not bad

made it through the three stories, which were actually just episodic chapters in an ongoing story. I would have liked some closure, but each chapter left more open ends, designed to entice me to get the next one. not bad, but three was enough for me.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy A
  • Kathy A
  • 01-10-20

Geez that was a challenge.

What a choke down. Sorry Ron and Thom trite, juvenile and a waste of a perfectly fine credit. Lordy I hope there’s not a book 4.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kieha dunn
  • kieha dunn
  • 10-12-20

Great story

This story had fantastic characters,including Shane Ryan (my favorite). Can't wait for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bluerose83
  • bluerose83
  • 26-10-20

so boring

Finished the first book and started the second, just can't seem to get into. Very disappointing compared to his other books. Found it very boring and draggy...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ramona Payne
  • Ramona Payne
  • 08-04-20

Heart racing

This series is so heart pounding it keeps you entertained to the point where you don't want it to end yet you want to see what will happen next. Abel worth gets on my last nerve yet you wonder what makes him tick. Marcus is someone you will really love as are Joyce and alex then there's Elaine and jeanette . Great narration each story will definitely keep you coming back for more. Five stars all the way from the way it was written to the great narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bluewindm
  • bluewindm
  • 18-11-21

Slow to start

The characters are easy to love and hate. Very hard to get into in start but once you are in, you are hooked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Belle's Book Club
  • Belle's Book Club
  • 06-11-21

Welcome to the Village.

For fans of the haunted house theme, welcome to an entire haunted village! A wicked experiment, that creates a story I couldn't put down.
Fans of Ron Ripley or Shane Ryan, you will love these books! There isn't a character you won't love, (or love to hate!).
Amazing narration as always, and 3 books in 1!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for André
  • André
  • 18-06-21

Enjoyable and entertaining

This was a well written and well narrated story. I will most definitely be getting the next set.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for corbi
  • corbi
  • 14-03-21

can't stop listening

omg. can't stop listening . can't get enough of this story. so many turns and twists