Try an audiobook on us

Greyfriars House

Narrated by: Lesley Mackie
Length: 15 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Secrets will be uncovered....

An epic, sweeping drama about a family with secrets and a house shrouded in mystery, Greyfriars House is perfect for fans of Rachel Hore, Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Tracey Rees. 

On a remote Scottish island sits: Greyfriars House.

1939

Nine-year-old Olivia Friel is delighted to be spending the summer at Greyfriars House, a place where her parents, their family and friends are always happy. But this year there's an underlying tension that Olivia doesn't understand. Then one night she sees something she's not meant to, and accidentally lets slip a devastating betrayal. 

1984

Charlotte Friel gets a call from her ailing mother, asking something she's never asked before: for Charlotte to come home. There are things Olivia needs to tell her daughter before it's too late, secrets to be shared about forgotten relatives and a mysterious house.

Left reeling by recent events, Charlotte is unsure what path to follow. But eventually her curiosity, and a desire to escape her own life, lead her to Greyfriars House. 

Will she find the answers she needs to make peace with the past?

©2018 Emma Fraser (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A gripping tale...romance, adventure and an intriguing underlying mystery." (Lancaster Guardian)

 "A heartbreaking novel of love and loss." (Blackpool Gazette

 "A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss...a great, insightful read." (Novelicious)  

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-09-18

Brilliant!!

I don’t usually review books, but I love this one! The story was brilliantly written and very detailed. There was a lot going on, but the author carefully made it clear that the scene was changing by starting a new chapter with a title indicating who it was telling about. This made it very easy to follow. Parts of the book were very difficult to listen to, as they were describing gruesome acts during the war. But described as though by someone who had actually experienced it. The narration by Lesley Mackie was nothing short of perfection!! I will no doubt be reading more from this author and looking for more books narrated by Lesley.