Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Secrets will be uncovered....

An epic, sweeping drama about a family with secrets and a house shrouded in mystery, Greyfriars House is perfect for fans of Rachel Hore, Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Tracey Rees. 

On a remote Scottish island sits: Greyfriars House.

1939

Nine-year-old Olivia Friel is delighted to be spending the summer at Greyfriars House, a place where her parents, their family and friends are always happy. But this year there's an underlying tension that Olivia doesn't understand. Then one night she sees something she's not meant to, and accidentally lets slip a devastating betrayal. 

1984

Charlotte Friel gets a call from her ailing mother, asking something she's never asked before: for Charlotte to come home. There are things Olivia needs to tell her daughter before it's too late, secrets to be shared about forgotten relatives and a mysterious house.

Left reeling by recent events, Charlotte is unsure what path to follow. But eventually her curiosity, and a desire to escape her own life, lead her to Greyfriars House. 

Will she find the answers she needs to make peace with the past?

©2018 Emma Fraser (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A gripping tale...romance, adventure and an intriguing underlying mystery." (Lancaster Guardian)

 "A heartbreaking novel of love and loss." (Blackpool Gazette

 "A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss...a great, insightful read." (Novelicious)  

What listeners say about Greyfriars House

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful story

I loved this book, learnt something new about history and was sad when it ended.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story that kept giving

This is the first book I have read by Emma Fraser and I throughly enjoyed it . The story continued to expand just when you thought there wouldn’t be much more to happen.
The three main characters, all female, engaged my sympathy and two of them , my admiration.

Excellent narration , each character distinctive and male and female characters voices equally good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Please put me out of my misery!

This story goes on way, way too long. The sheer nauseating detail of the prisoner of war experience makes this hard to stomach. It is a shame. The story is enjoyable and the soft accent of the narrator easy on the ear. It would have stood perfectly well for me without the big secret that came from the prison camp. I can’t see why it was needed at all. There was enough going on outside of it. It just went on and on and on. Many aspects of the plot did not seem likely or credible. That said, the parts that worked were sufficiently good to hang in there. I’m nearly at the end but have almost lost the will to go on!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Beautifully read in a charming Scottish accent. Many interesting characters and a great story- Iine set in modern and wartime Scotland and Singapore.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Loved this book. I got completely immersed in the story with its strong and likeable characters and great dual timeline. As a Scot I loved the Scottish setting and I thought the narrator was perfect. The book also taught me quite a lot about WW2 and the Japanese prisoner of war camps, and has made me read much more on the subject which I don’t think it was aware from my history lessons at school. Listened to it all in two days and I just couldn’t put it down. This was my first book by this author and loved it. I definitely recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved every minute

got so lost in this book, the twists and turns kept me engrossed throughout, beautifully written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a little slow in the middle

this book lost me from the middle up until the final 5 chapters where it went on to crammed it all in. storyline was good but did waffle a bit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly Enjoyable

I really enjoyed this book, well narrated and a very engaging plot. It was entertaining from start to finish. Would highly recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great saga....

I loved this book. The detail of the characters made me care about them all. It meandered from one story to another, all were joined and the story telling was first class. Also learnt a lot about WW2 , I didn’t know how horrific the Japanese were. The only down side was the ending seemed quite rushed... very engaging though and kept my interest for 15 hours! Would definitely read another by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So many exciting twists and turns

You will not regret this one. I love the characters and the surprising moments. Fantastic!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-09-18

Brilliant!!

I don’t usually review books, but I love this one! The story was brilliantly written and very detailed. There was a lot going on, but the author carefully made it clear that the scene was changing by starting a new chapter with a title indicating who it was telling about. This made it very easy to follow. Parts of the book were very difficult to listen to, as they were describing gruesome acts during the war. But described as though by someone who had actually experienced it. The narration by Lesley Mackie was nothing short of perfection!! I will no doubt be reading more from this author and looking for more books narrated by Lesley.