Listen free for 30 days

Greyfriars House

Narrated by: Lesley Mackie
Length: 15 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (107 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Secrets will be uncovered....

An epic, sweeping drama about a family with secrets and a house shrouded in mystery, Greyfriars House is perfect for fans of Rachel Hore, Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Tracey Rees. 

On a remote Scottish island sits: Greyfriars House.

1939

Nine-year-old Olivia Friel is delighted to be spending the summer at Greyfriars House, a place where her parents, their family and friends are always happy. But this year there's an underlying tension that Olivia doesn't understand. Then one night she sees something she's not meant to, and accidentally lets slip a devastating betrayal. 

1984

Charlotte Friel gets a call from her ailing mother, asking something she's never asked before: for Charlotte to come home. There are things Olivia needs to tell her daughter before it's too late, secrets to be shared about forgotten relatives and a mysterious house.

Left reeling by recent events, Charlotte is unsure what path to follow. But eventually her curiosity, and a desire to escape her own life, lead her to Greyfriars House. 

Will she find the answers she needs to make peace with the past?

©2018 Emma Fraser (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"A gripping tale...romance, adventure and an intriguing underlying mystery." (Lancaster Guardian)

 "A heartbreaking novel of love and loss." (Blackpool Gazette

 "A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss...a great, insightful read." (Novelicious)  

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful story

I loved this book, learnt something new about history and was sad when it ended.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story that kept giving

This is the first book I have read by Emma Fraser and I throughly enjoyed it . The story continued to expand just when you thought there wouldn’t be much more to happen.
The three main characters, all female, engaged my sympathy and two of them , my admiration.

Excellent narration , each character distinctive and male and female characters voices equally good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Please put me out of my misery!

This story goes on way, way too long. The sheer nauseating detail of the prisoner of war experience makes this hard to stomach. It is a shame. The story is enjoyable and the soft accent of the narrator easy on the ear. It would have stood perfectly well for me without the big secret that came from the prison camp. I can’t see why it was needed at all. There was enough going on outside of it. It just went on and on and on. Many aspects of the plot did not seem likely or credible. That said, the parts that worked were sufficiently good to hang in there. I’m nearly at the end but have almost lost the will to go on!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Beautifully read in a charming Scottish accent. Many interesting characters and a great story- Iine set in modern and wartime Scotland and Singapore.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved every minute

got so lost in this book, the twists and turns kept me engrossed throughout, beautifully written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a little slow in the middle

this book lost me from the middle up until the final 5 chapters where it went on to crammed it all in. storyline was good but did waffle a bit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Family Epic

Many many life adventures all is this enveloping family saga. A veritable salad of captured mystery, determination and strength of the three women.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emma Fraser great author

Loved this audio book and couldn’t wait for the next Chapter all the way through. Perfect narration by Lesley Mackie added to the enjoyment. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story well told enough complexity to keep it above routine romance.

Good story well told enough complexity to keep it above routine romance.
Well read and good
Historic detail

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Was not too sure to begin with but glad I persevered. Quite a bit of history of the WW2 in Japan which reminded me of the Tenko programmes on the tv some years ago. Worth reading and missed out on some sleep at times as I wanted to continue reading/listening.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-09-18

Brilliant!!

I don’t usually review books, but I love this one! The story was brilliantly written and very detailed. There was a lot going on, but the author carefully made it clear that the scene was changing by starting a new chapter with a title indicating who it was telling about. This made it very easy to follow. Parts of the book were very difficult to listen to, as they were describing gruesome acts during the war. But described as though by someone who had actually experienced it. The narration by Lesley Mackie was nothing short of perfection!! I will no doubt be reading more from this author and looking for more books narrated by Lesley.