Listen free for 30 days

Goodbye for Now

Narrated by: Peter Kenny
Length: 11 hrs and 46 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Two brothers - only one survives. 

As Europe is torn apart by war, two brothers fight very different battles, and both could lose everything....

While George has always been the brother to rush towards the action, fast becoming a boy-soldier when war breaks out, Joe thinks differently. Refusing to fight, Joe stays behind as a conscientious objector battling against the propaganda.

On the western front, George soon discovers that war is not the great adventure he was led to believe. Surrounded by mud, blood and horror, his mind-set begins to shift as he questions everything he was once sure of.

At home in Liverpool, Joe has his own war to win. Judged and imprisoned for his cowardice, he is determined to stand by his convictions, no matter the cost.

By the end of the Great War only one brother will survive, but which?

This breathtaking novel is perfect for fans of Jenny Ashcroft, Kate Furnival and Louisa Young.

©2018 M. J. Hollows (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

As MJ Hollows’s debut novel, Goodbye for now is a superb read/listen. The horrors of war shown both at home and on the front in such a light that you can’t help but feel for the characters. Superbly narrated by Peter Kenny, this is definitely worth your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely worth a listen

This book is really good and when it ended I was gutted, I wanted more