Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen is a chilling psychological thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely....

You leave for work one morning. Another day in your normal life. Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone. His belongings have disappeared. He hasn't been at work for weeks. It's as if he never existed. But that's not possible, is it? And if he has gone without a trace, why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

©2016 Mary Torjussen (P)2016 Headline Digital

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

Excellent read, enjoyed the book very much, narrator was good except for the too long a pause between chapters

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR
  • 17-05-17

spine chilling

found it slow at first but soon caught my attention. gently leads you down the path. end realisation is subtle but still shocks. good narrator. thoroughly enjoyed, late for work as couldn't turn it off!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Went a bit iffy near the end but really really enjoyed it. World be fabulous as a film, unsettling

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

This book had me gripped from start to finish. The story was not what I had anticipated and was so well performed that I couldn't leave it alone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gone Without a Trace

Prepare to sit on the edge of your seat with this hypnotic thriller. I have just had a sleepless night unable to stop listening until I got to the end. Terrific plot and beautifully and believably read.
If I have a criticism it is in the sometimes repetitive nature of some chapters. We get that she is missing Matt but labouring the point over and over gets tedious as do some of her scenes with Katie and in the office. I could not see the point of Sam who remained only a plot device. I also felt she had known Katie for so long that she would have sensed her treachery long before.
However, as the book developed and got deeper and her childhood began to be revealed it became horribly fascinating. I won't reveal the ending but the last few chapters were a total shock.
Hannah, and indeed all the characters, except Hannah's mother and perhaps, Mike, were unlikable. However, they were meant to be and this terrific read about delusion and betrayal is a true thriller in all senses of the word. It is very rare that I don't guess an ending and this ending was chilling.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Book - completely enthralling

This is very well written and has a brilliantly inventive plot with excellent characterisation. It held my attention so well that I couldn't stop listening. I finished it in a day by carrying my MP3 player and speaker EVERYWHERE I went, even shopping, when I swapped my speaker for headphones, so loath was I to switch it off. An amazing debut by Mary Torjussen and I hope very much that we don't have to wait too long for a second book.

As to the narrator..... All I can say is - Accents! she would have done much better to have read the story straight through without trying to add merseyside accents to the characters. They were written as well educated and sharp - to hear them ALL saying "wha?" (missing t intended), in a liverpool intonation was irritating and did not fit with any of the character types. If I had written this book I would have been most upset to hear this, as I am sure it was not what the author intended.

100% recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Totally mesmerising

It's really hard to do this justice when I'm still recovering from so many twists and turns.

Very likeable main character who was expertly portrayed. Possibly the best I've ever listened to and certainly the least predictable. A great antidote to the previous story I listened to.

I actually prefer the accents to only be used when characters are speaking and not for their thoughts or the narration but I imagine everyone feels happiest listening to a voice they can relate to which for me is female southerner.

I'll definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator in future - excellent work from both.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ms
  • 22-11-16

You think it's one thing, but...

I'm very wary of plot spoilers in thrillers and 'detective stories 'so I will be circumspect.

Hannah comes home from a work trip to Oxford and finds her world has turned upside down. She is the detective in this story, piecing together what has happened. But all is not as it seems...

I can't say more than that for fear of spoiling the denouement, but I can assure you that this book has a plot that will keep you on tenterhooks all the way through. It's immaculately written and paced - just when I wanted to shriek at Hannah, it moved on again and left me wanting more.

It's twisty mind-bending stuff, and if you liked Gone Girl you'll like this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The weirdest narration ever?

I am unable to get through this book because the narrator seems to think that a first person narrator thinks, writes and texts in one accent (in this case RP, Home Counties, middle class) and then speaks in a completely different accent (here it's straight out of Brookside - working-class Liverpudlian). THIS IS JUST WEIRD and renders the book un-listenable to.

Does the actress think that those of us with regional accents think and write in a nice RP agent like hers and only resort to our regional accents when we speak? Did no-one else in the production of this book think this was plain weird?

Unfortunately for Mary Torjussen, the book is going back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected

First book in awhile that I couldn’t predict what happened. Kept me in suspense 5 stars