Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The first in an addictive fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.

Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies....

Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She's spent her whole life in hiding.

Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.

She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus - a Frostblood rebel - by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?

Ruby will have only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn....

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Critic reviews

"Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue." (Lori M. Lee)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great fantasy story

I really love the fantasy genre, but it can get a little same-y at times. I felt like this story was original. I really like how the characters enteracted and grew with the story and I can't wait for the sequal. The performance given by Jennifer English was fantastic, she has a real talent with accents and bringing characters to life.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This was really fun!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend this. The story is really fun and easy to get through, if a little predictable at times. I really loved the narrator's voice - I think she made the main character more likable for me.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I wasn't shocked by the plot twist, but it was a good ending, and I think just compelling enough to make the reader want to read the sequel.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I really enjoyed the scene at the beginning - sad, but a good set up for the story to come. I also enjoyed one of the scenes between Arcus and Ruby, because there was lots of tension and excitement.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

"A whirlwind of ice and snow, perfect for newcomers to fantasy!"

Any additional comments?

This was a really great book for people just arriving in the fantasy genre - perhaps a little predictable for readers who have read more of it. But I definitely recommend the audiobook as I think I wouldn't have enjoyed the book as much when reading the physical copy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lis
  • Northampton, UK
  • 14-09-17

Well paced enjoyable read

What did you like most about Frostblood?

I expected this to be your typical YA fantasy book and to an extent it was but it was so well written with great characters that I fell in love with it.

What did you like best about this story?

I really liked seeing the views of the characters challenged and that they were willing to look at things from a new perspective.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I loved all the scenes where the frost and fire magic went up against each other. They were always well written and descriptive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very gripping!

A really good story that held you from start to finish, brilliantly read, definitely recommended

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It’s ok

This book was ok. It didn’t grip me but I didn’t hate it. I chose to read Frost Blood because the description sounded very similar to Red Queen but in the end it was a little too similar.
I gave the performances 2 stars for several reasons: the main character was very predictable; most of the time characters would just do things for plot purposes not because it made sense for the character to do it and most of the time you didn’t understand their motivation to any of it.
I gave the story 4 stars because it’s a good idea on the whole but I just don’t think it was executed well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good listen for teens, not YA

I good story with an interesting perspective and a lot of potential. But where SJ Mass manages to make her books a fun read for a slightly older audience too, Frostblood has many obviously fairytale sequences that make the characters unbelievable and made me cringe.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-10-18

GREAT

Constant suspense, I couldn't stop listening. This story is so good!! The performer is good too, her voice changes with the story.