Try an audiobook on us

Friends Like These

Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gripping thriller about fake friendships and the truth that lies behind the Facebook page, for fans of The Girlfriend and Friend Request.  

We all know someone like Becca.   

She has the job everyone wants, a designer wardrobe, a hot-shot lawyer boyfriend, holidays to exotic locations. And she flaunts her perfect life all over social media.  

It drove her colleague Lizzie mad, but she couldn't stop looking. They were never really friends - and yet Lizzie knew everything about her.   

Or did she?   

When chance and a terrible mistake pull Lizzie back into Becca's orbit years after they lost touch, she'll realise that you can't always believe what you see online...and that finding out the truth might be the worst thing you can do.   

There's no such thing as a perfect life. Only a perfect lie. 

©2018 Sarah Alderson (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • D
  • 28-01-19

The narration ruined the entire experience.

I knew this book would annoy me and it did not disappoint. I assumed the story would be very basic and that I would be able to figure out all the "twists" and "surprises" early on and I was ok with that. I was looking for something simple to help me fall asleep. But I found the narrator (I'm not sure if there were two? If so they sounded exactly alike) to be so annoying. All of her characters sounded just like her only they spoke with some kind of weird, slurred drawl like they were drunk or something. Seriously, why did The detectives, James and Autumn all sound alike?! It would have been fine for one character voice but she did it for ALL of the characters and that just about drove me mad. So I ended up hating all of the characters including the two main girls.

I also found this book to be repetitive. The interrogation screens were exactly the same and offered no new information. Honestly, you could have cut out the whole of chapter 25. Also, none of these characters were fully developed or likeable. I wanted this book to be fun, simple and surface but with the narration and repetitive writing I was mostly irritated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow what a story!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, just when I thought I had figured it out, another twist came. Can’t wait to read the authors next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good book

Great ending, I’m glad it wasn’t predictable. Twists and turns which makes you think you know what’s happening, until you don’t.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Had to stop listening

I stuck half of this out then had to stop listening. The basis of the story was actually ok but the characters were all unbelievable. The main character was irritating & unlikeabke & the other characters just over the top & silly. The narrator was annoying too, especially with the character of James.
I was really disappointed as the reviews were good & was surprised at what a load of tosh it was.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic roller coaster of a book

This was a great listen and I could have listened for a few more hours it was so good. Difficult to write a review without giving a spoiler. The book is a bit different from the usual and there are plenty of twists right to the end. I enjoyed both narrators and felt they really 'acted' out the characters well. Was not quite so fond of the male voices though. I felt the author really drew out the characters of both women and it both evoked mixed feelings that evolved throughout the course of the story. I will certainly look out for more titles by this author.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brba
  • 14-12-18

Finally a new twist

I enjoy listening to mysteries and physiological thrillers. I’ve been in quite a dry spell finding the same basic theme dragged out way to long. This book was well performed, kept my interest and lots of fun all the way through.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jude
  • 02-01-19

Absolutely fab book

What a fantastic book. I was hooked from the very beginning. The story was very well written and the narrators were brilliant. I did hope for a different ending from the main story line but there’s a psychological thriller for you!

Unfortunately there is only one Sarah Alderson novel available on Audible at this time, so I will have to be patient. I will look for others read by the narrators.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-01-19

Wow!

Very well written. The narrator was very good as well. Very twisty and so scary! I was at the edge of my seat figuratively.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rinnie
  • 05-01-19

What a bad girl!

I kind of like those bad girl books, if you do to, you will like this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 19-02-19

Brilliant! Loved It!

'Friends Like These' was a very good, exciting book with an excellent premise and quite a surprising ending. Our heroine is a busy body, chatty type who loves to gossip about everyone at work. She's energetic, tireless, and reminiscent of Bridget Jones in that British, too-hard-on-herself way. We go into the book completely irritated with her, but loving her nonetheless.

Then bad things start happening to her as a direct result of her meddling.

The story takes twists and turns and produces a finale that is truly remarkable in that it's original.

I thought this book was brilliant and I loved it!

5 stars

-Wendi

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-02-19

Hard to follow

This story was really hard to follow at points. It had such great potential and you would never suspect the ending. Except the very very ending was stupid and dragged out. It should have stopped earlier.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Zoe
  • 12-02-19

Beware: Spoilers

Spoiler Alert...





I feel lied to lol. It’s one thing for the author to mislead the reader; that’s essentially what a twist is. But it’s another thing for a character to mislead the reader.

If Lizzie was a villain all along, then why were the contents of her mind (in other words, her thoughts - thinking things that made her seem genuinely afraid of Becca or genuinely in the dark re: Becca’s whereabouts) at the first half of the novel seemingly innocent? It’s a twist, but it almost feels like the author cheated...for lack of a better description. Since the other characters in the novel can’t read Lizzie’s mind, then who is she acting/pretending for? The only person she might be trying to fool is the reader. Which would be odd, because Lizzie never acknowledges that.

Actually. Scratch everything I just said. The first half of the novel is Lizzie’s rendition of the events; she ends up writing a book and I think that’s the voice she uses in describing the events.

Overall, fun read and enjoyable listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Summer Layne
  • 07-02-19

Recommend

Unlike the myriad, mediocre "psychological thrillers" that are flooding the market, this novel actually grabbed and held my interest - with an unusual plot and unexpected twists ... all delivered by stellar narrators. Seriously, these two women took it to the next level - they WERE their characters.

Like some other reviewers, I do think that the latter part of the story was weak and rather unbelievable ... but still, just suspend disbelief and enjoy the edge-of-your-seat entertainment.

Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kenzie Dilliard
  • 03-02-19

Great twist!

This book totally threw me with the twist, I didn't see it coming at all! There are some really twisted people out there!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sheila S
  • 30-01-19

Credibility snapped!

This novel started out very well, with realistic characters and an interesting storyline. But it soon began to decline into a less believable tale. Credibility snapped for me during the final part of the book. Unfortunately, at this point, it made little difference to me who did what to whom. In sum, a big disappointment.