Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £5.99

Buy Now for £5.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

For fans of Bad Blood and The Big Short, the story of how one reclusive trading prodigy manipulated Wall Street and amassed millions from his childhood bedroom – then short-circuited the global market. 

A real-life financial thriller, Flash Crash gives panoramic insight into our economic landscape – its weaknesses, its crooks and its exploitable loopholes – and uncovers the remarkable, behind-the-scenes narrative of a mystifying market crash, a globe-spanning investigation into international fraud, and the man – Navinder Singh Sarao – at the centre of it all.

Depending on whom you ask, Sarao was a scourge, a symbol of a financial system run horribly amok, or a folk hero: an outsider who took on the tyranny of Wall Street and the high-frequency traders.

©2019 Liam Vaughan (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"The UK's pre-eminent chronicler of financial crime." (New Yorker

"Not just a readable, pacey account of an extraordinary individual and his quixotic quest for money he didn’t even spend, but also a troubling exposé of the fragility of our entire financial syste...I loved it." (Oliver Bullough, author of Moneyland)

What listeners say about Flash Crash

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    200
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

my word just been through this book twice

listen the guy was a trader who found using algorithmic software would do his bidding, he caught the day where he was a whale and did the unthinkable. Broke the rules and his fate was sealed.. nuff respect to the bloke.. killed it continuously and did nothing with it.. shows he will go down in folk law and at the same time will be able to continue his life.. Good luck and best wishes Nav

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jaw Dropping! Fascinating and thrilling. Brilliantly written.

Fascinating story, exceptionally well written. Author narrates brilliantly. Could not stop listening and talking about it! Cannot wait fir the move based on the book and Liams interview with Dev.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic and exciting!

After getting through all the other books about HFT and trading this was my last book on the list and my first book of 2021. I have gotten through it in less than a day as I was so hooked. The book is structured fantastically well and I followed easily which I have struggled with a few other books on similar topics. The book is read by the author which is great even though I could hear him sigh during a few sections of the book which made me laugh. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

This story is truly amazing and will captivate anyone who is interested in trading. When is the movie coming out? ;)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

interesting and entertaining even if ..

even if you don't get the particularities about the trading and all. there's been parts that flew over my head (not surprising) but it doesn't matter. the story is crazy and we'll written.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MB
  • 28-12-20

Good but not great

This is an interesting investigative work but certainly not of the caliber of Bad Blood or Flash Boys. A story about a random trader hitting big. However, what disappoints is that this guy had little to do with the actual flash crash of 2010 even though the book title suggests otherwise. Turns out he wasn't even trading during the flash crash!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Like listening to non-fiction

I love it when the author narrates their own work. Relatable characters and told in a relatable London accent.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good audio book and well read.

Good audio book. Interesting story and well read by the author/narrator.

I think the author has made this true story as interesting as possible whilst not making flashy comments or bending the truth. Good job I enjoyed it. 👍🏻

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Research!!!!

I love the research that went into this book. It was very educational for me. This should be movie

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding book

Fascinating read highly recommended. Very enjoyable and well narrated. Storyline is much more detail that what you would expect in book on this subject.