Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the beloved best-selling author Santa Montefiore comes a new novel filled with humour and heart about being in control - and losing it. For fans of The Temptation of Gracie, Flappy now takes centre stage, more charismatic and competitive than ever.

Underneath her graceful exterior lies a passion nobody knew about, least of all Flappy herself....

Flappy Scott-Booth is the self-appointed queen bee of Badley Compton, a picturesque Devon village. While her husband Kenneth spends his days on the golf course, she is busy overseeing her beautiful house and gardens and organising unforgettable events, surrounded by friends who hang on to her every word.

Her life is a reflection of herself - impossibly perfect.

Until the day that Hedda Harvey-Smith and her husband Charles move into the village. Into an even grander home than hers. Taking the front seat on the social scene, quite literally.

That simply will not do.

Flappy is determined to show Hedda how things are done here in Badley Compton. But then she looks into Charles’s beautiful green eyes. And suddenly, her focus is elsewhere. She is only human, after all....

©2021 Santa Montefiore (P)2021 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Flappy Entertains

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Flappy has flopped!!

I don’t normally write reviews but felt I had to warn other Santa Montefiore fans that this book is nothing like any of her others. The story line never really gets started and there are only 5 main characters who are all very week. Very disappointing to say the least!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

Love it yet a great storey line when I listen I can see the people's faces.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Such a lighthearted little story... beautifully read by Juliet Stevenson. If you want highbrow then steer clear but if you want a bit of lighthearted froth then you’ll love it.....

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit disappointing

I usually love this author’s work, and especially loved the story of Gracie. However, I found this sequel predictable and repetitive. ‘If there was one thing Flappy did/knew’ etc. seemed to crop up on every page! It passed the time during lockdown though.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A flaccid & vapid departure from a well-loved author

I’ve listened to all bar two of Santa Montefiore’s books and have loved every one and only wish she could clone herself to quadruple her output.

Her characterisation, poignant insights into human nature and relationships, and the gentle yet absorbing promise of a book you know will end in a satisfyingly uplifting way, are just some of the reasons I love her work.
This was a very emphatic departure from her previous novels.

I recognise that some will relish the absurdity of the rabid snobbery, shallowness and vapidity of the protagonist who’s competitiveness and self-aggrandising ways are intended to be an amusing satirisation of a blend of our most superficial traits. However, the lack of any tendril of emotional complexity, depth, or redeeming qualities in Flappy couldn’t hold my attention. The romance devoid of any romance that started a little before I gave up (part way through chapter six) was an invitation to laugh at yet more ridiculousness of a certain type of repressed sexuality. But the one dimensionality of such a farcical, beyond-parody figure, left me needing to return the title.

I look forward to The Distant Shores, part of the Deverrill series which I adored and hope will be made available on audible.

Jojo Moyes has accurately said of Montefiore 'Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore'. For me, at least, the departure from this gloriously skilled story-telling in Flappy Entertains, left me with missing all that I most appreciate about this talented author, but I’m sure many will be amused. She satirises well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Fun

Flappy is a fantastic creation...part monstrous, part lovable. This is a hilarious take on delusion, snobbery, lust and village politics. Loved every minute.