Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

One wrong move will ignite the city....

A body is found bricked into a wall of the Old Vicarage. From the state of the hands, it’s clear the dead man was buried alive. When the man is connected to an old missing person’s case, Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler is called.

After an ‘incident’, Tyler needs this case to go well in order to prove himself and get his career back on track. But he soon discovers that he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. Quickly deciding not to tell his superiors, and certain that he is the only one that can solve this, he must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself.

Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Tyler closely. Someone with an unhealthy obsession with fire....

A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before. Perfect for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton.

©2020 Russ Thomas (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new...I loved it." (Lee Child)

"Clever and compulsive." (Louise Candlish)

"It's everything you could want from a crime novel." (Sarah Ward)

What listeners say about Firewatching

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    116
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant narration

An excellent book enhanced by this masterly narration. Jamie Parker has a wonderful range, making identifiable accents for each character. You won’t be disappointed

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bad sound effects

Story good, but every time I got engrossed in the story, I was wrenched back to the real world by loud, booming echo effects. Ended up fast forwarding those bits and missing part of the story.

If I wanted to listen to a play with sound effects, I'd listen to a play. Music and sound effects have no place in my audio books, they ruin them.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling from beginning to end!

Absolutely captivating, as are all the twists and turns. Great plot, and can’t wait to read the next one!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but hated the sound effects!

I know this is a debut novel from Thomas so I wasn't expecting it to be a 5* read. The sound effects of phone calls and the old ladies voicesl made this audiobook more difficult to get immersed in the story. It felt very flat in places and then something would just happen, like the story struggled to build suspense and I found myself just trying to get thru the book so I could find out what was going on rather than enjoying the story unfolding/the writing. I will say I loved the LGBTQ representation & I liked Tylers character but would like to see more character development from him in the next book, I also really enjoyed the last 2hrs and the ending. I would still recommend this audiobook and will most probbly read the second book on this series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific modern detective mystery

I listen to hundreds of detective audiobooks and this is really excellent: well-paced story with clues and reveals at the right times, intricate mystery based on believable characters, and an interesting team of investigators. There's suspense and violence, and horrible experiences are recounted, but the narrative itself is not in the least sadistic or voyeuristic. The sensitivity and realism in protagonists' encounters with casual sexism and homophobia is really well-judged. And the narrator may be the best I've ever heard - the way he captures different voices, particularly different ages and genders, is brilliant.
Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good!

Great story, brilliantly narrated. Kept me guessing right to the end. Can't way for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting “page turner”

Far more entertaining than I expected. Lots of cliches but I imagine it’s difficult to write without some cliches. I was about to buy the second book but one reviewer said the character , Adam, isn’t in it much! He’s the one I want to hear about. Maybe I’ll listen much later so it will seem like two distinct stories.

Good narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Read

I tried this author as was recommended as a good read and I did not regret it. Good story and read well by narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, well read. Well worth the listening.

Great moody narration of a really good story. Will definitely purchase this author's next offering.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant apart from the sound

This is a great thriller which really entwines you in the story. I wasn't sure if the strange sound quality was part of the story or not ; either way I didn't like it and found it a distraction. Having said that I listened to the end and really enjoyed it.
Sorry for the confusing review.