Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

One false move.

Someone is setting fire to Sheffield. It starts with small things – dustbins and abandoned sheds – so people don’t notice at first. But the calling card is there if you look for it.

Will ignite.

Soon the fires spread to offices, homes, people. The Firewatcher’s followers are growing, and they have one particular blaze in mind – one that the police would do well to pay attention to.

The City.

But D/S Adam Tyler is distracted by a case, one that he is unknowingly connected to. And if he can’t discover the link between the fires and himself, he will burn – along with the entire city.

Fans of Adrian McKinty, Ian Rankin, Sharon Bolton and Broadchurch will love Firewatching, a compulsive, breathless and twisty thriller with an incredible lead detective at its heart. 

©2020 Russ Thomas (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new...I loved it." (Lee Child)

What listeners say about Firewatching

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant narration

An excellent book enhanced by this masterly narration. Jamie Parker has a wonderful range, making identifiable accents for each character. You won’t be disappointed

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling from beginning to end!

Absolutely captivating, as are all the twists and turns. Great plot, and can’t wait to read the next one!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific modern detective mystery

I listen to hundreds of detective audiobooks and this is really excellent: well-paced story with clues and reveals at the right times, intricate mystery based on believable characters, and an interesting team of investigators. There's suspense and violence, and horrible experiences are recounted, but the narrative itself is not in the least sadistic or voyeuristic. The sensitivity and realism in protagonists' encounters with casual sexism and homophobia is really well-judged. And the narrator may be the best I've ever heard - the way he captures different voices, particularly different ages and genders, is brilliant.
Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good!

Great story, brilliantly narrated. Kept me guessing right to the end. Can't way for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting

Took me ages to get into this one - but well worth the effort. Well written.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bad sound effects

Story good, but every time I got engrossed in the story, I was wrenched back to the real world by loud, booming echo effects. Ended up fast forwarding those bits and missing part of the story.

If I wanted to listen to a play with sound effects, I'd listen to a play. Music and sound effects have no place in my audio books, they ruin them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripped throughout

I enjoyed this audio book. The narrator was excellent and brought the characters to life.

I really liked the change in audio quality for the flashbacks (not saying anymore to spoil others’ enjoyment). Kept me guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Really enjoyed this book. Thoroughly hooked throughout. If you like a puzzle, this one was tricky and unexpected at the end!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great characters

I wasn’t sure I was going to like this when I started to listen but I soon found myself not wanting to stop. It’s got a good plot that keeps you guessing but the real strength is in the character development. Back stories are gradually uncovered as the story unfolds and the relationships between the characters become more nuanced. The narration is outstanding.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb whodunnnit

I was a little nonplussed by the LGBTQ+ rating thing prior to listening. It is both incidental and important but matters nothing in terms of the story. LGBTQ+ readers/listeners can be clear all are mentioned, but it’s just a well spun whodunnit in the end