We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Elmet Audiobook

Elmet

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape.

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now.

Sometimes Daddy disappeared and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

©2017 Fiona Mozley (P)2017 John Murray Press

What the Critics Say

"Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound...Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun." (The Economist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (26 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (23 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (23 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    bookylady 13/10/2017
    bookylady 13/10/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    245
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    82
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    37
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Powerful Story of Outsiders& Family Love/Loyalty"

    This is a satisfying novel and one which I listened to in three marathon sessions. It is, on the face of it, a simple narrative concerning a family which lives on the edge of society, clinging to each other and living a simple life.

    But they are surrounded by outside pressures, mysteries from the past, simmering violence from within and without the family and a local landowner who threatens their existence in the home they built on his land, without permission.

    The ending is heartbreaking and thought-provoking and I was left wanting to know more. Great writing, with believable characters and an absorbing, interesting plot.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roy Pierce-Jones United Kingdom 22/09/2017
    Roy Pierce-Jones United Kingdom 22/09/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    35
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A strong debut novel."

    This new writer displays a vivid pictorial ability that is poetic in places.The book is sometimes overwritten but overall it works wonderfully well. There is a powerful and violent conclusion to the book that lingers in the mind for some time.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine 19/10/2017
    Christine 19/10/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    88
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    395
    79
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much (slightly boring) detail"

    I tried to listen to this book, because it was a Booker finalist, but never really engaged. It was supposed to be atmospheric, but I found the minute details of people putting on clothes and carrying out chores to be boring. Detailed description just isn't my thing

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Olive Gale Mullet
    Big Rapids, MI
    02/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written and structured"

    The protagonist Daniel’s perspective is well read. The writing is beautiful which listening brings out and the taut ending keeps you going. Daniel with his sister Cathy and fighter father live isolated and self sustaining and confront a real villain. It is worth being on the Booker’s short list

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.