Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape.

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now.

Sometimes Daddy disappeared and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

©2017 Fiona Mozley (P)2017 John Murray Press

Critic reviews

"Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound... Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun." ( The Economist)

What listeners say about Elmet

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Powerful Story of Outsiders& Family Love/Loyalty

This is a satisfying novel and one which I listened to in three marathon sessions. It is, on the face of it, a simple narrative concerning a family which lives on the edge of society, clinging to each other and living a simple life.

But they are surrounded by outside pressures, mysteries from the past, simmering violence from within and without the family and a local landowner who threatens their existence in the home they built on his land, without permission.

The ending is heartbreaking and thought-provoking and I was left wanting to know more. Great writing, with believable characters and an absorbing, interesting plot.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A strong debut novel.

This new writer displays a vivid pictorial ability that is poetic in places.The book is sometimes overwritten but overall it works wonderfully well. There is a powerful and violent conclusion to the book that lingers in the mind for some time.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Astonishingly good

Beautifully written. Very well read. Can't wait to see what this new writer produces next.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Uncomplicated, Natural, Good versus Evil

The opening was not promising, but with the growing characters my eagerness to hear more and more increased. in the end, I ran the car home on a circuitous route to listen all the way to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Excellent book, really enjoyed it. Beautiful language and a great story with some unexpected twists. The narrator also did an incredible job.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written and performed

A beautifully written book, covering a sorely under-reported area of British life.

The characterisation never quite pulled me in 100% and the ending felt slightly flat, but it's still a hugely enjoyable listen.

Gareth Bennett-Ryan is brilliant, a top 5 performer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Shockingly good!

Beautifully written, wonderfully paced - a modern western set in the north of the UK - fabulous! How it did not win the Booker I do not know

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

beautifully written and gripping story. the narration was also excellent. I would recommend to anyone

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely, beautiful but also tragic & harrowing,

loved it - the story & the narrator.
a story of love, courage & bravery

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Immersed in the world of the book

Really enjoyed this book. I got completed immersed in the world of the story and kept me engrossed right to the end. The narration was great too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Olive Gale Mullet
  • Olive Gale Mullet
  • 02-10-17

Beautifully written and structured

The protagonist Daniel’s perspective is well read. The writing is beautiful which listening brings out and the taut ending keeps you going. Daniel with his sister Cathy and fighter father live isolated and self sustaining and confront a real villain. It is worth being on the Booker’s short list

2 people found this helpful