Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A life-affirming novel of love, loss and letting go - for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, The Trouble with Goats and Sheep and When God Was a Rabbit.

On her 47th birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump.... 

Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was 10 years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself.

Do Not Feed the Bear is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving. 

©2019 Rachel Elliott (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Do Not Feed the Bear

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The next lovely book you are looking for...

This is such a wonderful book - a joy to listen to. Really well read by the narrators. The story pulls you in right from the beginning, making you chuckle all through the first chapter and as it tipped into second chapter I was hooked! There are so many wonderful characters really well woven together about whom you want to hear more as the book progresses. You find yourself really caring about what happens to them. I absolutely loved it. A real find of a book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Beautiful Story!

This is a forever book; one you keep dipping into over and over again, and each time taking something new from it. I loved this book and felt so sad when it ended. It spoke to me in so many ways. A truly beautiful book!

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mikey
  • Mikey
  • 04-05-21

Good message, rounds out nicely.

Can get confusing following so many characters’ introspection and delusions, but if you stay with it it all makes sense. I enjoyed the dog’s perspective. I cannot figure out why they needed two different narrators. The male narrator did multiple people’s chapters, so I think either a different narrator for each character’s chapter...or just one narrator would have been less confusing.

I liked the inclusion of asexual and gender queer characters and their resolutions. And for a drama it is decent, though not a tear-jerker. It kept me interested throughout, at some points I chuckled out loud.