Listen free for 30 days

Denis Ever After

Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
Length: 8 hrs and 1 min
Categories: Children, Ages 8-10
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Written by award-winning author Tony Abbott and perfect for fans of The Ethan I Was Before and The Thing About Jellyfish, this bittersweet middle-grade novel follows the ghost of Denis Egan as he teams up with his living twin brother to solve the mystery of his death.

Denis Egan is dead. 

He’s okay with that. It’s been five years since he died, and the place where souls go is actually pretty nice. Sure, there are some things about his life and how it ended he can’t quite recall, but that’s how it’s supposed to be. Remembering could prevent Denis from moving on to whatever’s next. 

However, something is standing in his way. His twin brother Matt can’t let go of him, and as long as the living are holding on to his memory, Denis can’t rest in peace.

To uncover the truth about what happened that day five years before, Denis returns to his hometown and teams up with Matt. But visiting for too long has painful consequences for Denis, and Matt’s renewed interest in his brother’s passing is driving a wedge between his still-grieving parents.

Can the two boys solve the mystery of Denis’s death without breaking apart the family he’s left behind? 

©2018 Tony Abbott (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Supernatural 'whodunnit?' for young adults

Denis was killed five years ago. At least he thinks he was. He definitely died - he's currently roaming the afterlife with his grandfather, and vaguely remembers his death... possibly his murder.

He decides he needs to return to help his suffering family, his 12-year-old twin brother and father who are having trouble letting go and moving on, his silently pained mother. Can he communicate with Matt and work out just how he died and why?

I was reminded of The Lovely Bones listening to this - a story about a dead child, possibly killed, the identity of the killer unknown, and the victim trying to help his grieving family move on. Like that book, this is not for young children, despite being narrated by a pre-teen.

Denis delves into his own death, moving back to the night of his murder and works with his twin to solve it and put himself and his family at peace.

Denis's voice is well-created by the narrator, he sounds young, keen and quite accustomed to his situation. The audio format suits the telling, and it is easy to follow.

The story itself is sad, though I found the plot a little convoluted at times to follow. I was worried about graphic death/murder scenes, but there is nothing that means a mature child/teenage reader couldn't enjoy this, despite the genre and content.

The portrayal of a grieving family is quite heart-rending, and even for someone more than dubious about an afterlife, the rules and vision of Denis's are intriguing and don't detract.

Personally, I think a 9 year old will find this a little much, I would say 11-14 year olds and even adults will connect best with the subject matter and twins.

With thanks to Nudge Books for providing a sample Audible copy.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessica
  • Jessica
  • 16-08-18

A wonderfull tail of love and loss

I loved the story, there are a handfull of books I have read/listened to that has stayed with me long after I have finiched a book, and this is defenately one of them. The charachters were interesting and the building of the story made me listen to this book without a break in it.
Denis jurney back to earth to help solv his murder is exeptionally written and with Kirby Heyborns narration it blew my mind.
I cried rivers thru the story and I dont regret a singel tear. Im defenately gonna look for more from Tony Abbot, you got yourself a new fan!
So if you havnt gotten this one yet and want a story with intrige, humore, love and loss, I really recommend this one.
#SiblingStories #VoicesFromTheGrave #PastMeetsPresent #Tearjerker #Clever #ChildProtagonist  #tagsgiving #sweepstakes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sberg
  • sberg
  • 13-08-18

Volume a challenge

This was dramatically well-performed. It was difficult to listen further into the story with extreme volume changes-A LOT of shouting vs. Denis and Matt’s made it difficult to use ear buds or listen while driving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful