Try an audiobook on us

Dead in the Water

A Cherringham Mystery 1
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 6 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (78 ratings)
Regular price: £15.39
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

On the night of the school prom, a young teacher is found dead in the Thames in a drug-related accident. It seems - at first - to be another sign that Cherringham High is spiralling out of control. The new head however is convinced that the teacher's death is suspicious and quietly calls in Sarah Edwards. With her one-time detective partner, Jack Brennan, back in America, Sarah is at first reluctant to take on the case. But when she does get involved, it soon becomes clear that the tragic accident might really be a case of murder - and even Sarah herself could be in danger ...

"Dead in the Water" is the first full-length novel set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, featuring the unlikely sleuthing duo Sarah, an English web designer, and Jack, American ex-cop. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of 'DCI John Barnaby' in 'Midsomer Murders' and 'Jim Riley' in 'The Life of Riley'. He is also known for his film roles in 'The Nativity', 'Sorted' and 'Son of Rambow'. In 2012 Dudgeon starred as 'Norman Birkett' on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Bastei Lübbe (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An enjiyable listen

Excellent as usual. A good story and narration. A good light listen and very enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy Listening with intrigue <br /><br />

really love the Cherringham books and it's great as always narrator brings you in .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Linda
  • Peterborough
  • 11-05-19

Another fantastic story

Matthew and both Neil’s, keep em coming. Great plots, great back stories, great characters and really great narrative by the talented Neil Dudgeon. I even love the intro music - though not at the end because I am sad another tale has ended. Well done one and all. In jack’s voice ‘like I said, keep em coming’! 👍🏼

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little drawn out

I have been reading the shorter episodes featuring Jack and Sarah, and as they are quite gentle they bend well to the shorter tales. This one is good, but it tends to drag on a bit. I still enjoyed this story, but not so much as the shorter ones.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherringham

Absolutely love this series. So nice to have gentle crime without the shooting. Here’s to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will he stay or will he go?

Delicious toying with the listener as to whether Jack will stay on the Grey Goose, and in Cherringham....or return to his daughter in the States....
Realistic evocation of English comprehensive school life and the mystery focuses around drugs in Chloe and Daniel’s school- could Chloe be involved, and will Sarah and Jack save the day before it is too late...? One of the best in the Cherringham cosy crime series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good as always

It was enjoyable to have a feature length story. Narrated well as always. I had a few technical issues with the download and the play back. Had to turn phone off to get it all going again a few times. It might have been just my phone though. Didn't ruin the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A bigger helping

Everything we like about Cherringham but more of it! And it explains how Jack comes to be back on the scene...

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathleen Freeland
  • 04-04-19

Cannot wait for the next book

Everything is wonderful in this book, a new puppy included.
A series that is always interesting and delightful to listen to many times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cookiegrandma
  • 06-04-19

Superb!

Costello and Richards are master storytellers. Dudgeon is perfect for bringing characters to life. Masterpiece

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karly
  • 21-04-19

Another great Cherringham story

This was essentially an extended episode, with s bit more background about the main characters. If you like the Cherringham mysteries, you'll enjoy this as well. Listen to it following Episode episode 24 (A Death in the Family). This book explains what happens after the cliffhanger from episode 24.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Renee
  • 12-04-19

Keep them coming!

Wish this to become a television series, one shown in the States. Love, love, love these books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sylvia
  • 10-04-19

So nice to have a full-length Cherringham mystery!

As usual, this cozy mystery lives up to the high quality set by all the previous 27 short mysteries. Neil Dudgeon is a fantastic narrator, adding to the “coziness” of the story. And it’s a great story, with several mysteries solved by the end. Highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Roadrunner
  • 02-05-19

Good clean detectives

A detective story without all the cussing, gore, and violence. Neil Dudgeon does a great job narrating. I have every book in all of the Cherringham stories.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jan H. Wolfe
  • 30-04-19

One of the best modern light mystery series around

I have truly enjoyed this entire series. The plots are so original Love the narrator

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Verna
  • 21-04-19

Cherringham!

I have finished each and every story. They are wonderfully written, exceptionally narrated, short stories. I have listened while walking, cooking, driving, stitching and painting. My fear is that they won’t continue with more stories! Jack and Sarah are now people I know and I don’t want to lose contact with them!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 20-04-19

Really good cozy mystery

So glad to have a longer version, not interrupted by the irritating music. I enjoyed the short stories, but hated the music between each one of them.