Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A killer thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook best seller Paul Finch.

His worst nightmare is back…As a brutal winter takes hold of the Lake District, a prolific serial killer stalks the fells. ‘The Stranger' has returned and for DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg, the signs are all too familiar.

Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, The Stranger murdered his victims in vicious, cold-blooded attacks - and when two young women go missing, Heck fears the worst.

As The Stranger lays siege to a remote community, Heck watches helplessly as the killer plays his cruel game, picking off his victims one by one. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck must play ball…

A spine-chilling thriller, from the #1 ebook best seller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and James Oswald.

©2014 Paul Finch (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

Praise for Stalkers:

"[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks…definitely a talent to watch." (The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise… it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end." (Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:

"Avon's big star…part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!" (The Bookseller)

What listeners say about Dead Man Walking

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    301
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    324
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    265
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Would you listen to Dead Man Walking again? Why?

I would listen to this again. It was immensely enjoyable. The descriptions made it easy to "see" the scenes. The plot was well thought out and I loved the twist in the tale.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked the characters. They really came to life.

What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

His change of accents for different characters was great. His reading gave atmosphere and improved the book.

Any additional comments?

A great book and worth every cent.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller with surprises

Good pacey book. Bit grim in places and a little contrived, but on the whole a decent read

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What the Heck

Brilliant plot and well written
Narrator great The clipped narration suits the plot lines and the Mark Heck rugged character

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

What made the experience of listening to Dead Man Walking the most enjoyable?

From start to to finish it's exciting and stomach churning, what a story.
Very very well written and narrated
It is gripping and keeps you listening, it twists and turns through out, you can't second guess as to what is coming next.
The best audio book I have ever listened to.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another gripping book from the Heck series.

Excellent, pacy read. I thought I had guessed the ending. I had not!
I love how you are kept on the edge of your seat throughout!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Edge of the seat listen

I was taken in by the story and the characters well narrated but I didn't see that coming well done Paul Finch another great book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Although I guessed the identity of "The Stranger" halfway through the story, I loved every minute of this audiobook. At times eerie, at other times chilling and suspenseful, it had everything. I found myself holding my breath on more than one occasion. Try it, you will not regret it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceeded expectations

before i even started i expected this to be another Heck underworld caper but was a totally fresh story. Thoroughly enjoyed, great plot line and brilliant suspense. recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ever more fantastical

Would you try another book written by Paul Finch or narrated by Paul Thornley?

Probably but each book gets more unbelievable
It's a good job the baddies can't shoot straight

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

No. Very good

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love paul finch books

narrator is brilliant, i love the heck books and the tension between him and his partner.