Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.79

Buy Now for £13.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The year is 1983, the boom of the video age, and Scott Bradley is 17, unemployed, and on the dole. Drifting through life, he and his friends love nothing more than to sit around drinking, talking about girls, and watching horror movies. But things are about to change.

As the "video nasty" media storm descends, their desire to find a copy of the ultimate horror film - The Evil Dead - is going to lead them to the most significant days of their young lives. As the law tightens and their way of life comes under threat from all quarters, they come to learn what truly matters to them.

A heartfelt story of friendship, loyalty, and youthful rebellion, Dead Leaves is a darkly funny and brutally honest depiction of aimless life in a Midland town and perfectly captures the impact those first few years of video had on a generation.

©2015 Andrew David Barker (P)2020 Andrew David Barker

More from the same

What listeners say about Dead Leaves

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Evocative 80’s story of hysteria and escape

Absorbing 80’s Midlands-set rites of passage for friends hunting an elusive VHS tape, as moral panic and video nasties hysteria unfolds all around them. Evocative and entertaining, especially for fans of S.E. Hinton or Sam Raimi….Recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A touching Coming of Age story for Horror fans

Have you ever felt like a book was written just for you?

I felt this way while listening to Dead Leaves. It just ticked every box for me. I'm a big fan of coming of age stories (the first 'adult' horror book i ever read was Stephen King's IT, which is one of the best examples ever written). I'm also absolutely fascinated by the Video Nasties scandal in the UK in the 1980s (which I was too young to live through, but am old enough to remember it's aftermath). The mixing of both here results in a book that is in no way horror, but is a heartfelt love letter to the genre.

A small group of friends growing up in the East Midlands in 1980s UK are obsessed with horror movies. At the time, home media was burgeoning and VHS tapes were an expensive luxury. When police begin raiding local stores to seize copies of films deemed indecent and offensive, the trio hatch a plan to obtain a copy of one of the most infamous video nasties of them all...

The Evil Dead

This was something of a formative film for me as well and remains one of my favourites, so i was very emotionally connected to these boys from the start. I don't want to spoil any of the story itself, but horror fan or not, the realisations and experiences these boys go through over the course of the book are universally relatable and leave you with a great deal to think about after you've finished listening.

I can't recommend this more highly, just on the strength of the book itself. The narration is generally pretty good, although more successful with the voices of the kids than the adults. Regardless, you'll get lost in the story, because it is an absolutely captivating one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deedra
  • Deedra
  • 13-09-21

Dead eaves

Good story.Josh Shirt was a good narrator.I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.' 

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shanna Tidwell
  • Shanna Tidwell
  • 23-08-21

Loved it!

Bruce Campbell is a god in my book…. So anything that even mentions the Evil dead has my attention.
I loved this story. Would have like a little bit more at the end as it is short. I don’t want to spoil anything….. but….. when they actually watch the movie I’d love like a play by play of their reactions.
Narration by Josh Shirt was exceptional!
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anne-v
  • anne-v
  • 15-08-21

Coming of age... and horror films

This book is great. It's about teenage friendship, a love of horror films, how a film career begins, and that moment when the rare individual chooses to follow their own crazy dreams and not choose the expected, safe path.
I'd never heard of "video nasties" before this book so I even learned a little something.
I really enjoyed the book.
Josh Shirt is a wonderful narrator. I'd love to listen to more of his work. He so effortlessly narrates this story that I hardly even realized a book was being read to me. It felt more as if the author was just telling me his story.
I was provided this book upon request and requested to leave an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CyberCowboy
  • CyberCowboy
  • 10-08-21

Great fun

As an American I never had to deal with the Video Nasties, but I had the D&D, Music, and Video Game panics of the 80's and 90's to deal with here so this was something I could connect with. very well. It was interesting to see how other countries deal with such panics.

I received a copy of this book at my request in exchange for a fair review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 04-08-21

"Got that one in the back of me van, lad."

"At 17, horror films were everything to me" confesses Scott Bradley, lead protagonist in the book. who wanted, one day, to make films himself. And there was one title above all that he and his close mates wants to see, the illusive Evil Dead. It was Derby, England in the first half of the 1 980s and campaigner for moral hygene, Mary Whitehkuse, had invited a moral panic against 'video nasties' which resulted in po!I've raids and a sense of rebellion against state interference. This is a coming of age slice of time for Scott, his pals and the country.
Such an evocation of time and place for those who remember it and an interesting glimpse for those who don't at a time, not too long ago, before cell phones and the internet. All written in a way to take the reader straight back in time. The narratikn, by Josh Shirt, is spot on, too, his English Midlands accent perfectly representing the first person recounting by the main character. An excellent performance.

A look back into a different time, and inside a nerdy seventeen years old boy's mind. It was crude, funny, unexpected, exciting and far more than I had expected. I loved it. My deep thanks to the rights holder of Dead Leaves, who, at my request, freely gifted me with a complimentary copy via Audiobook Boom. I recommend it to averyone, young and old alike: it sums up impressions of an era.as well as the years and hopes of coming of age.