Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A gripping serial killer thriller.

Her blue eyes wide open, glossed over. A few specks of sand clung to her long, dark lashes. Her beautiful face, immobile, covered in sparkling flecks of sand. Her lips slightly parted as if to let a last breath escape.

Who is the beautiful girl found at dawn, on a deserted stretch of white sand beach? What is her secret?

FBI special agent Tess Winnett searches for answers relentlessly. With each step, each new finding, she uncovers unsettling facts leading to a single possible conclusion: Dawn Girl is not the only victim. Her killer has killed before.

Hiding a terrible secret of her own, special agent Tess Winnett faces her inmost fears, in a heart-stopping race to catch a killer who's getting ready to end yet another life. Will she find the killer in time? Will she be able to stop him? At what cost?

The rules of the game have changed.

So has the textbook definition of a serial killer.

Special agent Tess Winnett is the bold, direct, and short-fused heroine of Dawn Girl. Putting her life on the line, she doesn't pull any punches, searching only for the truth, and for the man who takes lives on her watch. Intelligent, resourceful, and uncompromising, Tess will take readers on a memorable, white-knuckled journey in this suspenseful, gripping serial killer thriller.

Fans of David Baldacci and James Patterson will enjoy Leslie Wolfe.

©2016 Leslie Wolfe (P)2016 Leslie Wolfe

What listeners say about Dawn Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It will keep you up until dawn

I really enjoyed this book.
This is book one in the Tess Winett series, I joined the series at book three and have loved everyone so far so thought I would go back to the begin and I am so glad I did this was a great book to add to my collection and I loved finding out how Tess and the rest of the team got together. It also proves you don't need to read/listen to this series in order to enjoy.
FBI agent Tess Winnett has one more chance to prove to her boss that she is a team player and can work with others or she losses the one thing she has worked her whole life to earn, her badge. With time ticking away before a sadistic killer kills his next victim Tess has to pull out all the stops. So hold on tight and enjoy every twist and turn this story takes as it take you on a roller coaster ride.
The narrator was easy to listen to and the hours just flew by as it hustled to the conclusion.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Abby Mamacos
  • Abby Mamacos
  • 07-04-17

Wow!

Kept me up all night. I'd set the timer for an hour and still be wide awake, so, I'd set it for another hour......all night!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A.B. Normal
  • A.B. Normal
  • 20-07-19

Why a male narrator?

This is a good starting effort for a series, connected in a way but standalone with a more or less resolved plot by closing.
Tess is a great character, very committed to her victims, unwilling to let personal, official or bureaucratic concerns allow suffering to continue beyond the second it takes to solve the case. The plot and antagonist are fairly formulaic and therefore predictable, but that doesn’t really detract from the story. This is by no means the Great American Novel, but it makes no pretensions in that direction.
It’s a simple thriller and meets the requirements of the genre with a strong female lead. It also sets out an ideal world in which women are held up the the merits of their work, not what men think women should be, while also being clear about how stereotypes about women affect the way crime agains women is investigated. It did provide one more glimpse of the double standard: what do you call a perceptive and assertive law enforcement officer? “A bitch with a badge”
My one critique outside of the story is to question the choice of a male narrator for a story about a strong female character. I have to confess that I wouldn’t really have a problem with a female narrator of a strong male character, but I think the difference is clear in the sense there are a lot more stories of strong male characters than there are female. I think women should read women for the foreseeable future. Prejudiced? Yes. Do I care? No.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daddyofanangel
  • Daddyofanangel
  • 23-05-18

The narrator was very boring. I struggled to finish the book because of his style.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robin Batterson
  • Robin Batterson
  • 02-11-17

great book

great book...listen while driving , couldn't wait to drive so cold find out what happens next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karentwilson
  • Karentwilson
  • 31-08-17

Terrifyingly Good

I binge listened to the three books in this series over a weekend and loved them all. I listened to the books out of order starting with the second book before the others. At first I didn't care for the narration in Dawn Girl, but the story had me in it's clutches and there was no way to stop. As the story progressed the narration got better and I enjoyed Tom Waites performance. FBI Special Agent Tess Winnett is everything you could want in heroine, she is brilliant, sassy and devoted to her work. Leslie Wolfe constructs a puzzle with twists and turns that had me holding my breath. Her books are scary in the details of the serial killer's mind, she gets them. She really gets SA Tess as well. I am really looking forward to more from Special Agent Tess and her crew of lawmen and support staff.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-09-18

Predictable

No surprises and I didn’t really like any of the characters so hard to get into the story. Skip it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-06-18

A “Criminal Minds” episode that was too long

This book has a promising start, with a great writing style and interesting details, it had me hooked. Slowly the book started following the plot line of any other serial killer/murder mystery. The ending was disturbingly predictable and lacked any sort of twist. The writing style is interesting, while the plot is not. Towards the end I was sitting and hoping it would end already, because everything that would happen was laid out in bold print. Definitely not going to purchase the rest of the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trish R.
  • Trish R.
  • 21-05-18

Sorry, I can't finish..

No matter what the 5 star reviews show, no one, except 2 I think, said anything about the narrator, and believe me he's terrible. He read the book, that's it. No emotions, no nothing. I prefer a male narrator because I can tolerate a female with a deeper voice but I can stand a female narrator who has the hero sounding like a girl. This narrator has all the characters sounding just alike, so I will avoid him in the future. This narrator has no life whatsoever when he reads.

Plus, the book has too much graphic torture mentioned by the coroner at the autopsy. He just went on and on about all the girl went through before she was finally killed. I'll definitely pass on any more books by this author and narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brenda
  • Brenda
  • 14-10-17

Great Read

I enjoyed the way the author showed the thinking process to solve the case. I felt like I was right there at times rooting for the characters to get the guy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alice
  • Alice
  • 04-03-17

dawn girl

Dawn.girl. there are a girl dead and a stubborn agent go after the killer. Together with two agents and crew they do stuff to find a rich killer. And they did. Great story i really loved it! Great narrated.

1 person found this helpful