Try an audiobook on us

Dark Rose

Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 18 hrs and 55 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (62 ratings)
Regular price: £22.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

It started by stealth. At first, no one could see what was happening. By the time the alarm was raised it was too late. Ireland had been seized: a financial assault consolidated by a military one. 

But as the island is overrun, it’s soon clear that the invaders did not anticipate the fierce resolve of of their Celtic opponents. Nor the determination of the country’s powerful allies to throw out the occupiers. 

While a strengthening Irish resistance mounts a fierce guerilla campaign to take their country back, the British bring to bear the full might of the Army, Royal Navy and RAF to liberate their friend and neighbour across the Irish Channel. 

Dark Rose takes a bold premise and weaves it into a breathtaking, action-packed military thriller. 

If you like Tom Clancy, Frederick Forsyth, Andy McNab, Chris Ryan, Larry Bond, Dale Brown or Damien Lewis then you’ll love Mike Lunnon-Wood. 

Perfect for fans of Red Storm Rising, Sniper One or Bravo Two Zero and movies like Red Dawn, Dunkirk and The Siege of Jadotville.

©1996 Mike Lunnon-Wood (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

chapters are a bit too long but overall a great book, good narration as well

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very interesting

A compelling story of the good and bad stuff that went on in the army especially interesting in Afghanistan and also about after coming back to the UK and leaving the army

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not his best

Too much background, not enough action with the fighters on either side of the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Listen

Long, but like all the Mike Lunnon Wood stories, an excellent listen. Thoroughly recommended. .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good listen

although it took a few minutes to get into the book, once the storylines had been built it then became extremely interesting.
This is the first book by this author, I will look at his other books based on this one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Starts well and then downhill

Good start and then tends to get lost in lengthy and pointless side stories. I stopped reading about 75% of the way as it appeared the author had lost the plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent read with credibility

really enjoyed the believable and we'll research story line, not problem in listening to more of his stuff

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A real groan.

This book is substantially out of date. Such things can sometimes be no problem, but when a book of fiction is focused on the politics of a quarter of a century ago, it really gets tedious. It is also surprisingly biased. An academic in the narrative explains carefully to a group of UK intelligence experts that Ireland is a Celtic nation ( I mean, they would never have known that eh !) But then goes on to say that it is the only Celtic country left. Really? It suggests that amazingly there are even a few Celtic speakers in the far West of Ireland. Well apparently there is another Celtic country to the east of Dublin with over a million Celtic speakers. But they are not Irish, just Welsh so they can't be Celts. The characters come straight out of music hall caricatures with classic Irish mammas , devious Welsh individuals and heroic Englishmen fighting drug smugglers and single hand-idly defeating baddies time and time again. It is not just bad, it is a real groan. It is toenail curlingly cringeworthy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful