Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Bloomsbury presents Dark Blade by Steve Feasey, read by Simon Darwen.

A sweeping epic fantasy perfect for fans of the Summoner trilogy by Taran Matharu and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

When gods fail, who will keep the darkness out?

Lann knows nothing of his mysterious past, but by his 15th birthday he will come face to face with destiny. For Lann must wield the Dreadblade, an ancient sword forged to defeat terrible monsters. 

Across the mountains a King has been murdered. His daughter, Astrid, is a warrior with no desire to bear the crown. Only she can uncover her father’s killer before her brother is framed for the crime.

Evil is stirring. Lann and Astrid are the kingdom’s last defence. Together, they must face the greatest darkness their world has ever known.

©2019 Steve Feasey (P)2019 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Critic reviews

"This has everything you want from an epic fantasy adventure - devious Gods, hideous monsters, a portal to another dimension and a hero with an enchanted blade. Great stuff." (Charlie Higson, author of the Young Bond series)

Terrific, vivid storytelling...Feasey is a skilled weaver of atmosphere, whether that's the all-consuming fury of a fight, or the oppressive fear born of hunting a monster through a fog-shrouded wood. Dark Blade is a rollicking adventure - SFX Fans of Rick Riordan and John Flanagan have a whole new world of dark magic, mysterious gods and brave heroes waiting for them." (Sebastien de Castell, author of the Spellslinger series)

More from the same

What listeners say about Dark Blade

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Logan Ryan Cobb
  • Logan Ryan Cobb
  • 26-05-20

Sword and sorcery feast!

Good magical adventure novel with lord of the rings undertones. I liked the surprise ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-03-20

what a thrilling story.I really enjoyed the readin

it was amazibg the description Steve feasy used was thrilling and amazing. thank you xoxox