We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Insidious Intent Audiobook

Insidious Intent: Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 10

Regular Price:£20.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Number one best seller Val McDermid returns with her suspenseful new novel featuring two of the most iconic characters in crime fiction: Tony Hill and Carol Jordan.

In the north of England, single women are beginning to disappear from weddings. A pattern soon becomes clear: someone is luring the women away, only to leave the victims' bodies in their own burned-out cars in remote locations. Tony and Carol are called upon to investigate, but this may be the toughest case they've ever had to face. Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Paula McIntyre and her partner, Elinor, must deal with a cruel cyber blackmailer targeting their teenage ward, Torin.

Impeccably plotted and intensely gripping, Insidious Intent reaffirms Val McDermid's place as Britain's best loved crime writer. This is the anticipated tenth instalment in the Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series.

©2017 Val McDermid (P)2017 W.F. Howes Ltd

What the Critics Say

"McDermid remains unrivalled." (The Observer)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (157 )
5 star
 (82)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.1 (149 )
5 star
 (78)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (8)
Story
3.9 (147 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (13)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Andromeda's Twin 26/08/2017 Member Since 2016

    Cassiopeia

    HELPFUL VOTES
    67
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    327
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed by this"

    I am a huge fan of this series and am seriously wondering whether this was actually written by Val McDermid or if it is actually a huge joke. All I got from this story was woe and misery from Carol who does very little in this story except bemoan how she is responsible for SO MANY deaths and how she cannot let that happen again.
    I must not forget the brief interlude with Torin and his own woes, that was also rather ludicrous in that we are shown rather crudely, just how easily Carol's 'crack' team will break the rules to further their own ends (not that I disapprove, far from it, I'm all for getting the job done, but it's far from believable) .
    As for the ending, well, it was all very abrupt, rather stupid and definitely unnecessary (as Paula's presence could have totally changed the outcome) .
    Overall I was dissatisfied and unhappy with this book.
    I may be biased by my dislike of Saul Reichlin's narration but I would not recommend this book to anyone, it is not Val's best.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs Luton Beds, United Kingdom 01/09/2017
    Mrs Luton Beds, United Kingdom 01/09/2017 Member Since 2017

    Now living in Norfolk, enjoy historical fiction, political biography/autobiography and the classics.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not impressed"

    This is the first book I have listened to in this series and it will be the last. Flat, predictable characters, far fetched plot and dreadful narration. Sorry but it's a real disappointment.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Derek 29/08/2017
    Derek 29/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    44
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    191
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "McDermid Jumps the Shark"

    Sad to say this book is totally disappointing.
    Carol Jordan’s constant angst and moral self flagellation is really tedious, all the ‘blood on my hands’ wailing, for crying out loud get a grip! It started to get irritating in previous books, but really peaks here leading to a totally amateurish climax. Thought better of McDermid to be honest.
    In terms of the story, the premise is okay, and it starts well but gets more and more stupid as it progresses. So many areas you have to suspend disbelief, for the record, you can’t pick a mortice lock with a standard lock pick set, a bit of actual research would have told that to the author, she could have even used her own youtube reference to get that nugget, perhaps small detail but maybe an indication that the series and writer has perhaps gone as far she can.
    Reichlin’s voices leave something to be desired, his teenagers sound like old men.
    The side story with Paula could have had legs just stretched credibility to unbelievable proportions, but less so than the conclusion.
    If you are a fan of the series, my advice is quit with ‘Splinter the Silence’.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Colette 05/09/2017
    Colette 05/09/2017

    Spend my time cycling, reading, listening to audiobooks and music, baking and running about after 3 grown up kids, cats and chickens.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    285
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    510
    84
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    28
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Utter let down"

    I'll preface my tirade with the fact that I love Val McDermid's writing and these characters in particular. This book however was a complete let down. I'll start with the ending because it was ridiculous. Carol and Tony
    did things that were completely bonkers and out of character. If I'd had a physical copy of the book I'd have given it a good shake to try to knock some sense back into the storyline.
    Stacey's behaviour to get Torin out of trouble was another misstep and Carol's acceptance of it was mad.
    I really don't enjoy Saul Reichlin's narration and would normally avoid anything that he's involved with. It's an indicator of how much I enjoy these books that I gave it a go. His pronunciation of Eleanor made my toes curl up.

    .

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sally Adams 01/09/2017
    Sally Adams 01/09/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a poor offering"
    Would you try another book written by Val McDermid or narrated by Saul Reichlin?

    I generally enjoy this series of books but this one was very poor. The storyline was very unbelievable and the characters dour.


    What could Val McDermid have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    A more realistic story line would have improved the book andpolice officers who didn't break the law themselves. The ending was dreadful...very unnecessary and a bizarre way for the two main characters to behave.


    What about Saul Reichlin’s performance did you like?

    The narration was fine.


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Not really


    Any additional comments?

    I would question whether mcDermid actually wrote the book herself as the ending was ridiculous

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue 01/09/2017
    Sue 01/09/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Up To The Usual McDermid Standard"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    The ending - I feel it wasn't very believable.


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    The narration was rather dull. The narrator made most people sound like they were in their 60's and his scouse accent was absolutely appalling.


    Was Insidious Intent worth the listening time?

    The first three quarters of the book definitely were, the last quarter not so.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith Richmond, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom 29/08/2017
    Judith Richmond, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom 29/08/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    218
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not one of the best"
    What would have made Insidious Intent better?

    A more intricate and faster paced plot as is more usual in this series. Less repetition of just how many deaths Carol feels responsible for and sharper dialogue between her and Tony. Less meaningless plot lines which felt as if they were there to make up the word count.


    Has Insidious Intent put you off other books in this genre?

    No.


    How could the performance have been better?

    I think it's a personal preference for or not for this narrator.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Insidious Intent?

    Everything from the point at which Carol makes her terrible decision and out of character decision. I don't want to give it away to people who haven't listened to this yet.


    Any additional comments?

    I was left feeling dissatisfied and disappointed.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GARRY BELSON 28/08/2017
    GARRY BELSON 28/08/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "bad end"

    good story not ended properly ended to soon and not told how it all ended

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bernie - Chorley 27/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant!"

    Val McDermid never disappoints. An excellent continuation of the Carol Jordan and Tony Hill series. I have read all the previous books and this is the first time I have listened to a Val McDermid. Very disappointing narration. Everyone sounded like an elderly person. All the accents were the same and very little distinction between characters. I was waiting for the narrator to say "Mr Kipling Makes Exceedingly Good Cakes"! It was that type of elderly gentlemans voice.
    The story, however, was good with a great twist at the end. Fans of Carol and Tony books won't be disappointed, but perhaps it would be better to read rather than listen. I will not be listening to this narrator again.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mistellie 29/08/2017
    Mistellie 29/08/2017 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    240
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    I have enjoyed every book in this series, except this one.. the ending seemed rushed and it just seemed to be a rehash of other books in the series.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.