Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Select or Add a new payment method

Buy with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £31.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first audiobook in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls - one human, one Made - whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now, Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death...by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier. 

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

©2019 Nina Varela (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

What listeners say about Crier's War

Overall Ratings

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Sort by:
Filter by:
5 out of 5 stars
By Jaclyn679 on 13-01-20

Effortlessly captivating

This book was very different from what I expected, but in the loveliest of ways. Crier and Ayla’s relationship was really moving, as it's fragile, and timid, but still moving and emotional. I enjoyed the political unrest throughout the chapters, and watching the characters try to navigate this world. The story embraces a lot of diversity, betrayal, enemies and self discovery. Lots of strong female characters, which is a win for me! I would like to know a lot more about the characters and the world, so I'm hoping that there is more to come.

Read more Hide me

2 people found this helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By April Ohms on 23-11-19

the ending was so unsatisfying

i really loves the lore and story telling of this book, but the ending sucked and kinda ruined it for me. It felt like they where just breaking off the story to make you buy the sequel that I assume is coming out. The romance never gets resolved, the conflict only got worse, leaving the main character in a sucky situation, then just ended. it really ruined it for me. I wouldn't recommend this book, unless the sequel comes out and you're willing to pay for 2 books just to get a satisfying story.

Read more Hide me

2 people found this helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By VolcanicAsh on 17-06-20

Worth the read

I really really enjoyed this book. It was entertaining the entire way through and I couldn’t stop listening. I was iffy on the narrator at first but after a chapter or two I wondered why I was iffy on it in the first place. This book delivers a great balance of adventure, mystery, and romance and I can’t wait for the sequel. Ignore any potential bad reviews you may read because if the synopsis sounds interesting to you I promise you will enjoy this book. Definitely became an instant favorite for me.

Read more Hide me

1 person found this helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Destiny S. on 22-10-20

Depressing, but good

The performance was so raw, and emotional, it was worth the read on that alone.

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Chess on 24-06-20

phenomenal!!!

READ THIS BOOK what are you doing buy it now and give to a go! dont listen to the negative comments this books is wonderful. the story telling is amazing the narrator did a wonderful job. I was so immersed in this world I easily finished this book and can't wait for the next!

Read more Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By 🎧AudiobookFiend on 21-06-20

Interesting. Innovative. Insipid.

I had really high expectations of this book. That might have been where I went wrong. ⚖️ Plot: The premise was great but it’s somehow lost its way in the middle. I was very much looking forward to reading this as part of my LGBTQ books this June. I was surprised to find it didn’t explore much at all. But then again my standards are also quite high with the likes of Magnus Bane from Clare and Mia Corvere from Kristoff. 🗺 World: With such a unique premise I would have loved to had seen more description of the setting and actual makeup of the Made race. There was quite a lot of history but it was scattered throughout and didn’t flow seamlessly for me. 💑 Characters: Ayla was my favorite from the start. Scyre is an intriguing character and kept me in my toes throughout. I did enjoy watching Crier coming in to her own with that great ending. This gives me hope for the rest of the series. I’m truly wishing to see more depth and description in the next books.

Read more Hide me